Read out Lines of a File and show it in a Dialog-combobox

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)

Post Reply
User avatar
migro
Macro Veteran
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 5:23 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Read out Lines of a File and show it in a Dialog-combobox

Post by migro » Sun Jun 12, 2005 5:38 pm

Hi,

I got a little Problem:

I like to read out a File containing the Path to different Versions of the same Program

Version.txt contains:

C:\Program_Version_1
C:\Program_Version_2
C:\Program_Version_3
...
...
...

Now I like to show this Information in a ComboBox of a Dialog to select and start one of the programms.

THX if anyone can help me.
regards
migro

User avatar
migro
Macro Veteran
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 5:23 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Problem solved

Post by migro » Mon Jun 13, 2005 1:01 am

Thx to all who read my question. In time i got it solved with a easy readfile command.

ReadFile>%SIDVerPath%,SidVerBuffer
Let>AppPath=SidVerBuffer

Then i passed the content of the variable to the dialog.
regards
migro

clickfast
Pro Scripter
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:04 am

Re: Passing variable to combobox

Post by clickfast » Sun Jun 03, 2007 7:24 am

Ok... I was browsing and found this topic... but you stopped just short of answering my question.. How did you pass the content of the variable to the dialogue.. in this specific case the combobox?????

Anyone?

migro wrote:Thx to all who read my question. In time i got it solved with a easy readfile command.

ReadFile>%SIDVerPath%,SidVerBuffer
Let>AppPath=SidVerBuffer

Then i passed the content of the variable to the dialog.

User avatar
pgriffin
Automation Wizard
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:56 pm
Location: US and Europe

Post by pgriffin » Sun Jun 03, 2007 11:10 pm

I believe you should be able to do a readfile to create a variable which contains each line seperated by a CR/LF

then if you assign the variable to Dialog.ComboBox

like let>Dialog.SomeComboBox=Line1%crlf%line2%crlf%...etc....

Then ResetDialog, and go back to your GetDialogAction>

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts