Set V12 dialog to noresize
Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)
Set V12 dialog to noresize
Is there an option to set new dialogs non resizeable?
Something like: "Resize = 0" in old dialogs?
I searched the help and the forum but can not find any hint.
Something like: "Resize = 0" in old dialogs?
I searched the help and the forum but can not find any hint.
regards
migro
migro
- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
Yes, you just need to change the dialogs BorderStyle property.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
Hi Marcus,
thx for the hint.
Changes to the dialogform itself, made in the dialogdesigner are not persistent.
I need to add: BorderStyle = bsDialog manually in the code. Changes to other dialog objects made in the dialogdesigner are saved without problems.
Here is my dialog code:
Any ideas?
thx for the hint.
Changes to the dialogform itself, made in the dialogdesigner are not persistent.
I need to add: BorderStyle = bsDialog manually in the code. Changes to other dialog objects made in the dialogdesigner are saved without problems.
Here is my dialog code:
Code: Select all
Dialog>Dialog1
object Dialog1: TForm
Left = 704
Top = 122
HelpContext = 5000
BorderIcons = [biSystemMenu]
BorderStyle = bsDialog
Caption = 'DSRsUpdate'
ClientHeight = 523
ClientWidth = 696
Color = clBtnFace
Font.Charset = DEFAULT_CHARSET
Font.Color = clWindowText
Font.Height = -11
Font.Name = 'MS Sans Serif'
Font.Style = []
OldCreateOrder = True
Position = poDesigned
ShowHint = True
OnTaskBar = False
PixelsPerInch = 96
TextHeight = 13
object MSImage1: tMSImage
Left = 0
Top = 0
Width = 697
Height = 529
end
object LabelToolTip: TLabel
Left = 512
Top = 136
Width = 175
Height = 329
AutoSize = False
Caption = 'Tooltip...'
Color = 11769220
Font.Charset = DEFAULT_CHARSET
Font.Color = clWhite
Font.Height = -15
Font.Name = 'MS Sans Serif'
Font.Style = []
ParentColor = False
ParentFont = False
Transparent = True
WordWrap = True
end
object ProgressBar1: TProgressBar
Left = 40
Top = 483
Width = 409
Height = 18
TabOrder = 0
end
object PageControl1: TPageControl
Left = -4
Top = 48
Width = 504
Height = 417
ActivePage = ActionTab
TabOrder = 1
object ActionTab: TTabSheet
Caption = 'Action'
object LabelSrcID: TLabel
Left = 40
Top = 34
Width = 50
Height = 13
Caption = 'Patient ID:'
end
object Splitter1: TSplitter
Left = 40
Top = 72
Width = 409
Height = 9
Align = alNone
Beveled = True
end
object LabelDestID: TLabel
Left = 40
Top = 112
Width = 50
Height = 13
Caption = 'Patient ID:'
end
object LabelName: TLabel
Left = 40
Top = 152
Width = 31
Height = 13
Caption = 'Name:'
end
object LabelFirstName: TLabel
Left = 40
Top = 192
Width = 53
Height = 13
Caption = 'First Name:'
end
object LabelBirthdate: TLabel
Left = 40
Top = 232
Width = 40
Height = 13
Caption = 'Born on:'
end
object LabelDentist: TLabel
Left = 40
Top = 272
Width = 36
Height = 13
Caption = 'Dentist:'
end
object Splitter2: TSplitter
Left = 40
Top = 312
Width = 409
Height = 9
Align = alNone
Beveled = True
end
object DbID: TLabel
Left = 200
Top = 344
Width = 53
Height = 16
Caption = 'strDbID'
Font.Charset = DEFAULT_CHARSET
Font.Color = clTeal
Font.Height = -13
Font.Name = 'MS Sans Serif'
Font.Style = [fsBold]
ParentFont = False
end
object SrcPatID: TEdit
Left = 120
Top = 30
Width = 233
Height = 21
MaxLength = 20
TabOrder = 0
Text = 'strSrcPatID'
end
object BtnGetData: tMSButton
Left = 376
Top = 28
Width = 75
Height = 25
Caption = 'Get Data'
DoubleBuffered = True
ParentDoubleBuffered = False
TabOrder = 1
DoBrowse = False
BrowseStyle = fbOpen
end
object DestPatID: TEdit
Left = 120
Top = 108
Width = 233
Height = 21
MaxLength = 20
TabOrder = 2
Text = 'strDestPatID'
end
object DestPatName: TEdit
Left = 120
Top = 148
Width = 233
Height = 21
MaxLength = 32
TabOrder = 3
Text = 'strDestPatName'
end
object DestPatFirstName: TEdit
Left = 120
Top = 188
Width = 233
Height = 21
MaxLength = 32
TabOrder = 4
Text = 'strDestPatFirstName'
end
object DestPatBorn: TEdit
Left = 120
Top = 228
Width = 233
Height = 21
MaxLength = 10
TabOrder = 5
Text = 'strDestPatBorn'
end
object CbSaveImage: TCheckBox
Left = 40
Top = 344
Width = 153
Height = 17
Caption = 'Update Images for DB-ID:'
TabOrder = 6
end
object BtnUpdate: tMSButton
Left = 376
Top = 340
Width = 75
Height = 25
Caption = 'Update'
DoubleBuffered = True
ParentDoubleBuffered = False
TabOrder = 7
DoBrowse = False
BrowseStyle = fbOpen
end
object DestDentist: tMSComboBox
Left = 120
Top = 268
Width = 233
Height = 21
AutoDropDown = True
ItemHeight = 13
MaxLength = 12
Sorted = True
TabOrder = 8
Text = 'strDestDentist'
end
end
object ConfigTab: TTabSheet
Caption = 'Config'
object Splitter3: TSplitter
Left = 40
Top = 256
Width = 409
Height = 9
Align = alNone
Beveled = True
end
object LabelSidexisDir: TLabel
Left = 40
Top = 40
Width = 88
Height = 13
Caption = 'SIDEXIS directory:'
end
object LabelPdataDir: TLabel
Left = 40
Top = 80
Width = 75
Height = 13
Caption = 'Image directory:'
end
object LabelOdbcSrc: TLabel
Left = 40
Top = 160
Width = 70
Height = 13
Caption = 'ODBC Source:'
end
object LabelMailslot: TLabel
Left = 40
Top = 120
Width = 82
Height = 13
Caption = 'SIDEXIS mailslot:'
end
object LabelAppVersion: TLabel
Left = 40
Top = 280
Width = 140
Height = 13
Caption = 'DSRsUpdate Version: 1.0.0.0'
end
object LabelCopyright: TLabel
Left = 272
Top = 280
Width = 174
Height = 13
Alignment = taRightJustify
Caption = 'Copyright (C) 2010 by Dental-Servers'
end
object LabelLicenseKey: TLabel
Left = 40
Top = 342
Width = 60
Height = 13
Caption = 'License key:'
end
object VzSidexis: TEdit
Left = 144
Top = 36
Width = 305
Height = 21
TabOrder = 0
Text = 'strVzSIDEXIS'
end
object VzPdata: TEdit
Left = 144
Top = 76
Width = 305
Height = 21
TabOrder = 1
Text = 'strVzPDATA'
end
object Mailslot: TEdit
Left = 144
Top = 116
Width = 305
Height = 21
TabOrder = 2
Text = 'strMailslot'
end
object ODBCsrc: TEdit
Left = 144
Top = 156
Width = 305
Height = 21
TabOrder = 3
Text = 'strODBCsrc'
end
object License: TEdit
Left = 120
Top = 338
Width = 233
Height = 21
TabOrder = 4
Text = 'strLic'
end
object BtnSaveLic: tMSButton
Left = 376
Top = 336
Width = 75
Height = 25
Caption = 'Save'
DoubleBuffered = True
ParentDoubleBuffered = False
TabOrder = 5
DoBrowse = False
BrowseStyle = fbSave
end
end
end
end
EndDialog>Dialog1
regards
migro
migro
- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
?? Seems ok to me. I can create a new dialog in the dialog designer and set borderstyle to bsDialog, save and close. When I edit it again borderstyle is still set to bsDialog and if I make some other change, save and close, and update the code it is still showing bsDialog. So all appears well for me.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
I agree with Migro. I've seen multiple problems with assorted properties that fail to be implemented on creation or on edit and update of a dialog. Borderstyle is one that doesn't "stick" when I set it using the Dialog Designer. Another one that I can think of is "Position". Oddly you can type them into the dialog block and once they exist, they persist through subsequent Dialog Designer edits.
Sorry, I've been meaning to mention this but for some reason have always been too busy at the moment it occurred.
Sorry, I've been meaning to mention this but for some reason have always been too busy at the moment it occurred.
I checked the version history here: http://www.mjtnet.com/mswhatsnew.htm but I've seen no reference to this "bug" (if it is a bug) being fixed.JRL wrote:I agree with Migro. I've seen multiple problems with assorted properties that fail to be implemented on creation or on edit and update of a dialog. Borderstyle is one that doesn't "stick" when I set it using the Dialog Designer. Another one that I can think of is "Position". Oddly you can type them into the dialog block and once they exist, they persist through subsequent Dialog Designer edits.
I think it happened to me today, I changed the "Position" property for a dialog, clicked the "Save to Clipboard" button, closed the dialog editor, pasted in the new dialog into the script, deleted the old dialog from the script, ran the macro and the change did not show up. When I went back into the Dialog Editor, it was still set to the old value. I changed it a second time and this time around, the new "Position" property came through. Why didn't it save the first time around?
Marcus, have you been able to reproduce this?
JRL and migro, are you still seeing this happen now and then?
jpuziano
Note: If anyone else on the planet would find the following useful...
[Open] PlayWav command that plays from embedded script data
...then please add your thoughts/support at the above post -
Note: If anyone else on the planet would find the following useful...
[Open] PlayWav command that plays from embedded script data
...then please add your thoughts/support at the above post -

OK, I can verify that this problem is still happening.
Marcus please post to let us know if you reproduce this.
- - I open a macro in the MS editer that contans a v12 dialog
- I right-click on the Dialog> line and choose Edit Dialog1
- When the Dialog editor opens, the dialog itself has focus and I want to change the BorderStyle property for the dialog itself so I change it... then click back onto the dialog being designed... focus is still on the dialog itself... but look... the BorderStyle has changed back to what it was before I changed it
- If I repeat this exact operation one more time, the change I make will actually stick
Marcus please post to let us know if you reproduce this.
Last edited by jpuziano on Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
jpuziano
Note: If anyone else on the planet would find the following useful...
[Open] PlayWav command that plays from embedded script data
...then please add your thoughts/support at the above post -
Note: If anyone else on the planet would find the following useful...
[Open] PlayWav command that plays from embedded script data
...then please add your thoughts/support at the above post -

- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
No, I can't. Following your instructions I end up with borderstyle=bsDialog (or whatever I am changing to). It does not change back of its own accord.Marcus please post to let us know if you reproduce this.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
Hi Marcus,
I understand that when the Dialog Designer first opens, even though it looks like the dialog itself has focus, if you go straight in and change a property... that's when it may not stick... but if you instead open the Dialog Designer and click first into the dialog, it will get a proper focus on whatever object you clicked on in the dialog (or the dialog itself) and then changes to properties will stick. If this can be fixed so we don't have to remember that extra step, that would be great.
In my earlier post, I had updated it saying the dialog designer was coming up in random locations. I believe that was my fault as somehow "Pin to Designer" had become unchecked... sorry about that. Once I checked it again, it returned to opening normally... so I deleted that update from my previous post.
One more Dialog Designer issue though... I had occasion to enter a lot of very long Captions for Labels on a Dialog and to be able to see what I was typing, I re-sized the normally tall and skinny Dialog Designer Properties window to be very wide but it did no good... because the fields themselves did not get any wider. Can you please make the properties fields re-size along with the Properties window itself when we drag that window wider?
Thanks for looking at this and take care
I understand that when the Dialog Designer first opens, even though it looks like the dialog itself has focus, if you go straight in and change a property... that's when it may not stick... but if you instead open the Dialog Designer and click first into the dialog, it will get a proper focus on whatever object you clicked on in the dialog (or the dialog itself) and then changes to properties will stick. If this can be fixed so we don't have to remember that extra step, that would be great.
In my earlier post, I had updated it saying the dialog designer was coming up in random locations. I believe that was my fault as somehow "Pin to Designer" had become unchecked... sorry about that. Once I checked it again, it returned to opening normally... so I deleted that update from my previous post.
One more Dialog Designer issue though... I had occasion to enter a lot of very long Captions for Labels on a Dialog and to be able to see what I was typing, I re-sized the normally tall and skinny Dialog Designer Properties window to be very wide but it did no good... because the fields themselves did not get any wider. Can you please make the properties fields re-size along with the Properties window itself when we drag that window wider?
Thanks for looking at this and take care
jpuziano
Note: If anyone else on the planet would find the following useful...
[Open] PlayWav command that plays from embedded script data
...then please add your thoughts/support at the above post -
Note: If anyone else on the planet would find the following useful...
[Open] PlayWav command that plays from embedded script data
...then please add your thoughts/support at the above post -

- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
Yes, I can confirm that the issue is that you need to click on the dialog before setting a property and while it looks like the dialog is the selected property it isn't on first open until clicked. We'll get this fixed in the next release to ensure that after opening the designer the dialog is already "clicked".
Have added "make the properties panel resizable" to the list.
Have added "make the properties panel resizable" to the list.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
Sounds great, thanks Marcus.mtettmar wrote:Yes, I can confirm that the issue is that you need to click on the dialog before setting a property and while it looks like the dialog is the selected property it isn't on first open until clicked. We'll get this fixed in the next release to ensure that after opening the designer the dialog is already "clicked".
Have added "make the properties panel resizable" to the list.
jpuziano
Note: If anyone else on the planet would find the following useful...
[Open] PlayWav command that plays from embedded script data
...then please add your thoughts/support at the above post -
Note: If anyone else on the planet would find the following useful...
[Open] PlayWav command that plays from embedded script data
...then please add your thoughts/support at the above post -
