Left Handed Mouse - Working or not?

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)

Post Reply
User avatar
Phil Pendlebury
Automation Wizard
Posts: 543
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:00 am
Contact:

Left Handed Mouse - Working or not?

Post by Phil Pendlebury » Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:53 am

Hey all I recently spent about four days trying to figure out a
problem that one of my users was having with a copy and paste routine that finds a graphic and then moves the mouse, does a left double click, copy and paste etc.

Eventually we discovered that the reason copy and paste was not
working is because he had a left handed mouse when he has assigned his
mouse to normal right handed, it works correctly.

I noticed on the forum that there was a problem with left handed mouse
use but it looked as though it had been fixed.

Please can you tell me if this the case with version 12 (latest) and if
not is there a fix due or should I mention in my manual that
people must use right handed mouse config?

Thank you.
Phil Pendlebury - Linktree

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:33 am

Was fixed in 12.0.05:
Version 12.0.5 09/07/2010

...
Fixed: LClick and RClick not independent of left hand/right hand mouse settings (LCLick should always do primary button function)
...
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

User avatar
Phil Pendlebury
Automation Wizard
Posts: 543
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:00 am
Contact:

Post by Phil Pendlebury » Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:52 am

Hi Marcus,

Thanks for the quick reply.

That's what I thought. The thing is, the last build I did was with the latest update. (12.06 I believe).

Can you think of anything else that would cause this? The guy is in France so it's very difficult to trouble shoot remotely.

Is there any way I can test? Is it as simple as setting my own mouse to left handed?

Could it vary depending on OS (I am on Win 7 - he is XP).

Or maybe he has actually re-assigned his buttons?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Phil Pendlebury - Linktree

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:57 am

To test it just go into Mouse Properties and select "Switch primary and secondary buttons".

You should find, as I do, that LClick and RCLick continue to function for the primary/secondary buttons regardless of that setting.

I'm not aware of any other way you can switch mouse buttons.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

User avatar
Phil Pendlebury
Automation Wizard
Posts: 543
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:00 am
Contact:

Post by Phil Pendlebury » Wed Aug 25, 2010 1:42 pm

Hi Marcus,

Sorry if I am being dumb here.

I have just tried a very simple test:

Code: Select all

Wait>3
// MOVE MOUSE OVER SOME TEXT
LDblClick
Wait>3
If I run this script with normal config - The text I have moved the mouse over will be selected (you can actually use the text in the script editor itself to test).

However,

If I then go to control panel > mouse > buttons and check the box "switch primary and secondary buttons"

The script fails - in fact I have to start the script by clicking the RUN button with the RIGHT mouse button. So the buttons have been reversed but LDblClick still click the LEFT button.

Of course this all makes sense - how would MS know that the OS has changed the button conifg. What is indicating a problem is that your statement above - LClick and RClick not independent of left hand/right hand mouse settings (LCLick should always do primary button function)

Please can you offer any further insights?

I am using Logitech Setpoint - Maybe that is the issue and I do know almost all people in my audio world are using similar.
Phil Pendlebury - Linktree

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:02 pm

Ah, dang. I see the issue here. The fix fixed LClick/RClick but not LDblClick/RDblClick. We'll have to get that sorted for the next maintenance release. In the mean time a workaround would be to do two LClicks in a row:

Wait>3
// MOVE MOUSE OVER SOME TEXT
LClick
LClick
Wait>3
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

User avatar
Phil Pendlebury
Automation Wizard
Posts: 543
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:00 am
Contact:

Post by Phil Pendlebury » Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:08 pm

mtettmar wrote:Ah, dang. I see the issue here. The fix fixed LClick/RClick but not LDblClick/RDblClick. We'll have to get that sorted for the next maintenance release. In the mean time a workaround would be to do two LClicks in a row:

Wait>3
// MOVE MOUSE OVER SOME TEXT
LClick
LClick
Wait>3
Aha - Once again Marucs saves me from thinking I am going round the bend.

:-)

Thanks for the quick replies and excellent support as usual.

:-)
Phil Pendlebury - Linktree

User avatar
Phil Pendlebury
Automation Wizard
Posts: 543
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:00 am
Contact:

Post by Phil Pendlebury » Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:23 pm

Hi Marcus,

Sorry for this last question. I am a bit desperate, as I am about to compile and release an update.

Can you think of any reason why I should not just change all entries of:

LDblClick

to

LClick
LClick

???

Just wondering if it is likely to have any side effects - timing etc. Bearing in mind I use the LDbClick command exclusively for copy and pasting only.

It seems safe to me in my tests but just thought I should "LDblCheck" with you first.

:-)
Phil Pendlebury - Linktree

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:28 pm

Two LClicks is exactly what LDblClick does. So I don't see any problems with this.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

User avatar
Phil Pendlebury
Automation Wizard
Posts: 543
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:00 am
Contact:

Post by Phil Pendlebury » Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:32 pm

mtettmar wrote:Two LClicks is exactly what LDblClick does. So I don't see any problems with this.
Thanks for that.

:-)
Phil Pendlebury - Linktree

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts