Include issue during Step Debug.

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)

Post Reply
Mrbrown
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:44 am

Include issue during Step Debug.

Post by Mrbrown » Wed Aug 22, 2007 12:39 am

Hello again,

I encountered a strange problem.

This is the simply code:

Code: Select all

let>incluso1=%script_dir%
ConCat>incluso1,\IdentSimboloNomiPlayerTipoMatch.scp
Include>%incluso1%
The included code is loaded and executed when i normal run the script
but when i run the Debug Step by step "F8" i get the error "file in include does not exist" and the only way for make this include working non the F8 mode is to use after the include the fullpath and file name, without the possibility of using variable.
So, resuming, the isse is that when i normal run the script i can the variable for the include, but in the debug step by step "F8" variable cannot be used, or i get the error "file does not exist".
Any explaination?
Best Regards

Me_again
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Somewhere else on the planet

Post by Me_again » Wed Aug 22, 2007 12:55 am

Not sure it will fix it but you shouldn't need to ConCat> it, try:

let>incluso1=%script_dir%IdentSimboloNomiPlayerTipoMatch.scp

gdyvig
Automation Wizard
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 7:57 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Use Change Directory with Include statement for debugging.

Post by gdyvig » Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:03 pm

The solution in the previous post did not work for me, but this does:

Let's you have this macro script files:

c:\common\IncludeCommon.scp
c:\suite1\IncludeSuite1.scp

c:\suite1\mymacro.scp contents:
-------------------------------------
Change Directory>%SCRIPT_DIR%
Include>IncludeSuite1.scp
...rest of macro

c:\suite1\IncludeSuite1.scp contents:
--------------------------------------
Let>CommonDir=c:\common
Change Directory>%CommonDir%
Include>IncludeCommon.scp
Change Directory>%SCRIPT_DIR%


Might work for compiled macros also.
Need to check that out.

gdyvig
Automation Wizard
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 7:57 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Change Directory/include statements to compile executable

Post by gdyvig » Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:31 pm

I created an executable using macros like the ones described in my previous post. It successfully included both include macros into the compiled executable.

This method provides greater flexibility for using variables to define the folder locations of your included macros.

gdyvig
Automation Wizard
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 7:57 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

MScheduler Manual correction - Create Exe Compile Incudes

Post by gdyvig » Mon Jan 26, 2009 5:32 pm

Hi Marcus,

Section "2.21 Create Exe" in the manual incorrectly states under Options:

Compile Incudes ... Will not work where Include> references scripts via variables other than SCRIPT_DIR.

It should say CWD, not SCRIPT_DIR.

The argument for the Include statement should not contain any variables - it should be a fully qualified scriptname or a partially qualified scriptname under the CWD directory.

Could this correction be made in the next update of the manual? Macro Scheduler's actual behavior is more flexible than the manual suggests.

Thanks,

Gale

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:44 pm

Actually it WILL work with SCRIPT_DIR but only when compiling from the main Macro Scheduler window. If compiling from within the editor it will not compile includes that use SCRIPT_DIR. It should work in both cases.

This was reported to me a couple of days ago and we will endeavour to fix.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

gdyvig
Automation Wizard
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 7:57 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

CWD

Post by gdyvig » Tue Jan 27, 2009 1:31 am

After the fix, CWD will still be the Current Working Directory for the include statement?

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:59 am

Of course - CWD is always the current working directory for everything. You can't change that. If you don't specify a path then CWD will always be used. And CWD could be anything depending on what the app has done. CWD may change - e.g. it changes when you use Change Directory, but an app you call may also change it.

SCRIPT_DIR is meant to be the only variable Includes can be compiled with. It is the only sensible one you can use as it refers to the directory that the script you are compiling is in. Of course if you haven't yet saved the script it won't have one. The bug is that it isn't quite working within the editor. But it works fine from the main window.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts