Open File - Security Warning

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3532
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Fri Dec 08, 2006 4:28 pm

I agree with SkunkWorks. There is more to this and in order to help we need more info. The previous sample script needs to have one more line. WaitWindoOpen won't time out unless you ask it to by setting WW_TIMEOUT to some value.

Let>WW_TIMEOUT=30

WaitWindowOpen>SomeWindow
waitready>0
wait>1
if>WW_RESULT=FALSE
mdl>SomeWindow NOT Found
goto>END
else
do something useful....
endif


Label>END

cwink
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:15 pm

Post by cwink » Fri Dec 08, 2006 4:59 pm

Well, the logging did nothing but show the first command (let it sit for 5 minuits...), and i did the other thing. No dialog at all showes up, and this is the code i used:

Let>WW_TIMEOUT=30
WaitWindowOpen>Blah
waitready>0
wait>1
If>WW_RESULT=FALSE
mdl>Window NOT FOUND!
goto>END
else
mdl>WINDOW FOUND!
goto>END
endif
Label>END

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3532
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Fri Dec 08, 2006 5:07 pm

Take out the WaitReady line and try this again.

Let>WW_TIMEOUT=30
WaitWindowOpen>Blah

wait>1
If>WW_RESULT=FALSE
mdl>Window NOT FOUND!
goto>END
else
mdl>WINDOW FOUND!
goto>END
endif
Label>END

cwink
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:15 pm

Post by cwink » Fri Dec 08, 2006 5:15 pm

nope, didn't work

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3532
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Fri Dec 08, 2006 5:29 pm

This little script should give you a message no matter whether anything else is running or not. I'm confused.

Can you post the script you've been running... If not can you send it to me via PM... If not can you send it to support?

cwink
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:15 pm

Post by cwink » Fri Dec 08, 2006 5:33 pm

Have to post it on site (BBCode isn't working).

http://lcphr3ak.googlepages.com/script1.txt

User avatar
pgriffin
Automation Wizard
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:56 pm
Location: US and Europe

Post by pgriffin » Fri Dec 08, 2006 7:04 pm

have you turned on Logging for this script? I looked at your code and, one way or the other, you should get a message stating the window was either found or not found.

"Nope, didn't work" is tough to debug....What didn't work? Did ANYTHING happen? How are you invoking the script? from a hot key, from the GUI, etc....

Please post the log file. Also, if you are having issues posting code here, then you should click on the CODE button before pasting, that might help you paste it successfully....(not promising anything, but try it)

User avatar
pgriffin
Automation Wizard
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:56 pm
Location: US and Europe

Post by pgriffin » Fri Dec 08, 2006 7:19 pm

another idea:

Just before the WaitWindowOpen> use this:

GetActiveWindow>aWindow,ax,ay
mdl>%aWindow%


maybe use it after the WaitWindowOpen as well

This will simply report back to the screen which window your system "Thinks" is open....

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3532
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Fri Dec 08, 2006 7:50 pm

Good idea Paul. I just downloaded the program from HP and tried running the script as posted. My initial findings are:

1) I do not get a warning message so I still have no idea how to handle the warning window.

2) The window name used by cwink in line 24 of the script "HP - All-In-One Series" is slightly different than the window name that is coming up when I execute gc_w01_ENU.exe.

3) This made me wonder the same thing Paul is asking... What is the real name of the error window. Could it be that the name is incorrect?

cwink
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:15 pm

Post by cwink » Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:40 pm

Right now i'm currently tied up, but i can tell you that i went into the system view that comes with the software, and took the title directly from it.

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3532
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:17 pm

When you get the chance, take another look at the error window using the "View System Windows" tool. Is there more than one window with the name "Open File - Security Warning"? If there are two or more windows with this name it may be possible to isolate this one window by using WF_TYPE

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts