maximized dialog-busting my chops...

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)

Post Reply
bbrink
Pro Scripter
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:36 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

maximized dialog-busting my chops...

Post by bbrink » Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:34 pm

Hi,

I am creating a kiosk application, I need it to fill the screen on a 1024 x 768 monitor. If it is any easier, this is the only size monitor it will be run on. the app only consists of one non-modal dialog.

I need to know the relevant properties to set for the dialog itself as well as for elements EDIT BOX, BUTTONS and and LABELS. There seems to be an order of precedence to some of the sizing/scaling properties that I do not understand causing some unexpected results. Is there a "dialog layout it out and lock it down tutorial" or layout best practices somewhere?

I also noticed that the WindowState control seems to slip from wsMaximized to wsNormal, is this by design so someone doesn't bury the dialog designer controls behind the dialog they are designing?

Thanks,

Bob

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3531
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: maximized dialog-busting my chops...

Post by JRL » Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:42 pm

Hi Bob,

Do you have any code you can share? What version of Macro Scheduler are you using?

Here's a simple sample

Code: Select all

Dialog>Dialog1
object Dialog1: TForm
  Left = 472
  Top = 245
  HelpContext = 5000
  BorderIcons = []
  Caption = 'Kiosk Dialog'
  ClientHeight = 768
  ClientWidth = 1024
  Color = clBtnFace
  Font.Charset = DEFAULT_CHARSET
  Font.Color = clWindowText
  Font.Height = -11
  Font.Name = 'MS Sans Serif'
  Font.Style = []
  OldCreateOrder = True
  Position = poScreenCenter
  ShowHint = True
  OnTaskBar = False
  PixelsPerInch = 96
  TextHeight = 13
end
EndDialog>Dialog1

Show>Dialog1

Wait>3

bbrink
Pro Scripter
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:36 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: maximized dialog-busting my chops...

Post by bbrink » Wed Jul 20, 2016 5:34 pm

Hi,

I am using the latest version of Ms, 14.3. I started the script in 14.2 but upgraded earlier today. I will review the samples you posted and report back regardless of results. Thank you very much!

Bob

bbrink
Pro Scripter
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:36 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: maximized dialog-busting my chops...

Post by bbrink » Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:26 pm

Hi,

I changed Position = poDefaultSizeOnly to Position = poScreenCenter and things are working better now.

I also stumbled back into the sample scripts that install with MS. I had forgotten about them, they are a great examples!

Thanks for your help,

Bob

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts