I am trying to create a unility script like this concept:
IF ComPort input includes Caller id Then Run Database routine.
I know of a number of utilities that display Caller ID on screen, and adds to log files. Using Macro Scheduler, I am currently monitoring the log file for change, then reading the last line, parsing out the caller's number. I then send that number to a database application to retrieve the customer record for that caller.
But this involves too many products and is too slow, I want the record to show pn screen before the call is answered.
What I am looking for is a method to trap the caller id at the com port myself, creating a new file with just the caller phone number. That way I can run a macro in the background. If File Exists, retrieve the customer record.
I know that the caller id comes in the com port between the first and second ring. Is there some command line, VBScript, or other utility I can use to capture the com port and trap the caller id?
Caller ID capture
Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)
- Bob Hansen
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 2475
- Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:47 am
- Location: Salem, New Hampshire, US
- Contact:
Caller ID capture
Hope this was helpful..................good luck,
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!
- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
The question is - do you have exclusive access to the COM port?
If so then, in theory, you can use ReadLn:
ReadLn>COM1:,1,line
You'd need to have a loop that keeps doing that looking for the data you want.
It is one thing reading from the COM port if you are the only one doing so, but if you wish to intercept data being read by some other application then that is a different matter. To do that you would need something like this ActiveX serial port sniffer:
http://www.serial-port-communication.co ... r-activex/
If so then, in theory, you can use ReadLn:
ReadLn>COM1:,1,line
You'd need to have a loop that keeps doing that looking for the data you want.
It is one thing reading from the COM port if you are the only one doing so, but if you wish to intercept data being read by some other application then that is a different matter. To do that you would need something like this ActiveX serial port sniffer:
http://www.serial-port-communication.co ... r-activex/
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
-
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1101
- Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
- Location: Somewhere else on the planet
If the traffic on the com port is only one way, i.e the PC is just listening to the other device with no handshake, you can use GPS Gate to share the data between multiple apps with no com port conflicts using virtual serial ports. (Although it's designed for GPS it will handle any serial data, just the GPS specific functions aren't any use to you.)
- Bob Hansen
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 2475
- Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:47 am
- Location: Salem, New Hampshire, US
- Contact:
Thanks for suggestions, I will follow up on them.
Re dedicated usage of the com ports, I was expecting to be using a modem with caller id capabilities. This is getting in hardware issues that I am not yet familiar with. Not sure how this fits in with the suggestions above, but I am sure I will find out.
Re dedicated usage of the com ports, I was expecting to be using a modem with caller id capabilities. This is getting in hardware issues that I am not yet familiar with. Not sure how this fits in with the suggestions above, but I am sure I will find out.
Hope this was helpful..................good luck,
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!
-
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1101
- Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
- Location: Somewhere else on the planet
Are you thinking of having the modem on the same line as someone answering the call? I think that should work, this basic info may help. http://www.mtnsys.com/Pages/howto/htmdmtst.htm