Syntax Error

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)

Post Reply
sailor dude
Pro Scripter
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:43 pm

Syntax Error

Post by sailor dude » Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:00 pm

I getting a syntax error with the following code snipet and I have tried numerous permutations of syntax changes. I am stuck. Any thoughts.

Code: Select all

Ask>IS THIS A RAQ?,RAQ


If>RAQ=YES
	Ask>CAN A PRICE BE GIVEN?,PRICE
EndIf>


If>RAQ=NO
	Ask>WAS A QUOTE SENT?,QUOTE_SENT
EndIf>


If>{(%RAQ% = "NO") AND (%QUOTE_SENT% = "NO")}

	Press Enter
	Wait>0.5
	Press Enter

ENDIF


If>QUOTE_SENT = YES

	Send>You should have received your quote for the %MODEL% by email.
	Press ENTER
	Press ENTER

ENDIF

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:10 pm

Line 13 should be:

If>{((%RAQ% = "NO") AND (%QUOTE_SENT% = "NO"))}

I.e. you need extra parentheses around the entire expression.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

sailor dude
Pro Scripter
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:43 pm

Sorry - But That does not work either

Post by sailor dude » Thu Dec 14, 2006 3:16 pm

I tried it and I still get syntax error, error parsing expression

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:05 pm

If RAQ is YES QUOTE_SENT is never created. So you will get an error in line 14.

This works:

Code: Select all

Ask>IS THIS A RAQ?,RAQ


If>RAQ=YES
	Ask>CAN A PRICE BE GIVEN?,PRICE
EndIf>


If>RAQ=NO
	Ask>WAS A QUOTE SENT?,QUOTE_SENT
Else
	Let>QUOTE_SENT=NIL
EndIf


If>{(%RAQ% = "NO") AND (%QUOTE_SENT% = "NO")}

	Press Enter
	Wait>0.5
	Press Enter

ENDIF


If>QUOTE_SENT = YES

	Send>You should have received your quote for the %MODEL% by email.
	Press ENTER
	Press ENTER

ENDIF
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

sailor dude
Pro Scripter
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:43 pm

Still No Success

Post by sailor dude » Thu Dec 14, 2006 7:03 pm

I added

Let>RAQ=NIL
Let>PRICE=NIL
Let>QUOTE_SENT=NIL

at the beginning of the script.

I still get syntax errors.

Attached is part of the log file for the case of No then Yes at the ASK commands

12/14/2006 12:01:27:194 - START: If>{((NO = "NO") AND (YES = "NO"))}
12/14/2006 12:01:27:194 - END: ENDIF
12/14/2006 12:01:27:210 - START:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:210 - END:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:210 - START:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:210 - END:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:210 - START: If>QUOTE_SENT = YES
12/14/2006 12:01:27:210 - END: ENDIF
12/14/2006 12:01:27:210 - START:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:210 - END:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:225 - START:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:225 - END:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:225 - START:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:225 - END:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:225 - START:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:225 - END:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:225 - START: If>{((NO = "YES") AND (NIL = "YES"))}
12/14/2006 12:01:27:241 - END: ENDIF
12/14/2006 12:01:27:241 - START:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:241 - END:
12/14/2006 12:01:27:241 - START: If>{((NO = YES) AND (NIL = NO))}
12/14/2006 12:01:32:007 - END: ENDIF
12/14/2006 12:01:32:038 - Finished Macro : Create Customer Email2

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Thu Dec 14, 2006 7:13 pm

Just noticed there were some erroneous spaces on line 25. This works fine for me for all possible inputs:

Code: Select all

Ask>IS THIS A RAQ?,RAQ


If>RAQ=YES
	Ask>CAN A PRICE BE GIVEN?,PRICE
EndIf>


If>RAQ=NO
	Ask>WAS A QUOTE SENT?,QUOTE_SENT
Else
	Let>QUOTE_SENT=NIL
EndIf


If>{(%RAQ% = "NO") AND (%QUOTE_SENT% = "NO")}

	Press Enter
	Wait>0.5
	Press Enter

ENDIF


If>QUOTE_SENT=YES

	Send>You should have received your quote for the %MODEL% by email.
	Press ENTER
	Press ENTER

ENDIF
Works ok for me. Which version of Macro Scheduler do you have?
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

User avatar
Bob Hansen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 2475
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:47 am
Location: Salem, New Hampshire, US
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen » Thu Dec 14, 2006 8:35 pm

Remove spaces in Quote_Sent line.

From:
If>QUOTE_SENT = YES

To:
If>QUOTE_SENT=YES

------------------------------------
Edited: Oops, looks like Marcus already told you about that. My reply was in limbo, and I missed his response.
Hope this was helpful..................good luck,
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!

sailor dude
Pro Scripter
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:43 pm

Extraneous Spaces???

Post by sailor dude » Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:10 pm

Is this the line you are talking about

IF>QUOTE_SENT=YES

There are no extraneous spaces in my code. The editor would have flagged it.

I am running ver 8.1 under WinXP SP2

It still will not run for me.

sailor dude
Pro Scripter
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:43 pm

Disregard my previous post

Post by sailor dude » Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:24 pm

I had 2 instances of this line.

I am making progress but, still have syntax errors.

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: Extraneous Spaces???

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Thu Dec 14, 2006 10:05 pm

sailor dude wrote:Is this the line you are talking about

IF>QUOTE_SENT=YES

It still will not run for me.
You originally had:

If>QUOTE_SENT = YES

The code I posted works fine. No problems at all. Copy the code I posted above to a new macro and run it.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

User avatar
Bob Hansen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 2475
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:47 am
Location: Salem, New Hampshire, US
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen » Thu Dec 14, 2006 10:10 pm

The script provided by Marcus on Thu Dec 14, 2006 2:13 pm works fine on my system.

What problems are you still having?
Hope this was helpful..................good luck,
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!

sailor dude
Pro Scripter
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:43 pm

Success

Post by sailor dude » Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:01 pm

Further down in my script, I missed some quotes in places where they were needed and had quotes in another places where they should not have been.

Thanks so much for your help :D

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts