Comment Blocks

Ideas for new features & functions

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
User avatar
Bob Hansen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 2475
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:47 am
Location: Salem, New Hampshire, US
Contact:

Comment Blocks

Post by Bob Hansen » Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:28 pm

Over the years I have been using // at the beginning of each comment line.

Right now each comment line needs to be tagged with a prefix or edited to make sure that the firsr few characters are not command shortcuts.
The current method looks like this:

Code: Select all

// Everything from here
// is a comment 
// until I end the 
// comments with 
//
Frequently it is useful to Paste or type multiple lines into a script for reference. It would be nice to add something like //* at top and *// at end

It would be great to be able to designate a sequential section of lines to be grouped as a "Comment Block"
Something like this:

Code: Select all

//*    Everything from here is a comment until I end the comments with *//
would be the same as

Code: Select all

//*  Everything from here
is a comment 
until I end the 
comments with 
*//
I would also want the Editor Debug Single Step utility to be able to skip the comment block. Maybe include a Menu option to select Skip Comments or not, It may be useful to step through them at times.

It would seem that this could be done without affecting earlier versions since they already have the comment lineds tagged with a prefix. That method would stay in effect to comment lines individually.
Hope this was helpful..................good luck,
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!

User avatar
support
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 4:38 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by support » Wed Jul 27, 2005 8:49 am

The next release will support /* ... */ comment blocks and the debugger skips entire block.
MJT Net Support
[email protected]

User avatar
Bob Hansen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 2475
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:47 am
Location: Salem, New Hampshire, US
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen » Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:56 pm

debugger skips entire block.
Don't recall asking for that. Love it when we get extras, sounds great!

Thanks for listening.
Hope this was helpful..................good luck,
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts