Doing a Timer Loop

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
winstein
Pro Scripter
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 3:44 pm

Doing a Timer Loop

Post by winstein » Wed Aug 03, 2016 4:50 am

The situation now is this: apparently a customer's Task Scheduler is not working as intended (namely, tasks cannot run on the scheduled time), so a temporary solution is to run a certain program after every 5 hours using Macro.

What I am thinking of doing is to set a Macro application on a loop to run the program after every 5 hours. What is the best way to achieve this? If I do this, is the process going to be intensive for the CPU?

Based on what I see, the Timer function does not reset the timer, so a variable will keep increasing as the program continues.

Thanks for reading.
PPQ

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7380
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: Doing a Timer Loop

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Wed Aug 03, 2016 9:00 am

Hi,

This will do:

Code: Select all

Label>start
Run>the-program.exe
//wait 5 hours
Wait>18000
Goto>start
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

winstein
Pro Scripter
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 3:44 pm

Re: Doing a Timer Loop

Post by winstein » Fri Aug 05, 2016 8:01 am

OK, thank you for the advice.
PPQ

Post Reply
cron
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts