Technical support and scripting issues
Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)
-
Jerry Thomas
- Macro Veteran
- Posts: 267
- Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:57 pm
- Location: Seattle, WA
Post
by Jerry Thomas » Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:08 pm
I have subroutines that have optional parameters.
Code: Select all
GoSub>Test,,3
SRT>Test
Assigned>Test_Var_1,bRslt
If>bRslt=TRUE
//do stuff
Endif
End>Test
In the Watch List, Test_Var_1 shows as blank but bRslt=TRUE.
I have tried using
Code: Select all
Length>Test_Var_1,varLength
If>{(%varLength%>0) and (%varLength%<10)}
...
but this can be cumbersome.
Any suggestions?
-
JRL
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 3532
- Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
- Location: Iowa
Post
by JRL » Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:43 pm
Something like this help?
Code: Select all
GoSub>Test,,3
SRT>Test
If>%Test_Var_1%<>{""}
//do stuff
Endif
End>Test
See
HERE for a similar issue and answer.
-
Jerry Thomas
- Macro Veteran
- Posts: 267
- Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:57 pm
- Location: Seattle, WA
Post
by Jerry Thomas » Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:10 pm
Definitely cleaner than what I was doing.
Thanks!
-
Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
-
Contact:
Post
by Marcus Tettmar » Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:45 am
Assigned tests for whether the given variable name EXISTS. Since you can see it in the watch list it DOES exist. Hence you get true.
As JRL suggests it looks like you actually want to test whether or not the variable is an empty string.