Forking depending on groupings

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)

Post Reply
mcolville
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 7:46 am

Forking depending on groupings

Post by mcolville » Tue May 19, 2009 7:59 am

I have a script, which I hope to eventually have as a loop so that it produces a report for each client, hands off.

However, one of the things that are tripping me up is that there are a few state-specific slides - ones where the creation behaviour differs slightly depending on which state the client is based in. I can make a list of "Client name" "State" in any number of ways, but I can't figure out how best to do it so that I can tell the script to fork.

I played around with something along the lines of
Let>Statename=Client1,Client2,Client3
Let>Client=Client1
Position>{%Client%},{%Statename%}, 1, Location

But location always comes up as nil - if I set the string literals in the parameters, it works, but then I would have to manually change the text otherwise occupied by a variable every time (and the Client list would be fairly unmanageable fairly rapidly).

Another thought I had was to set up a table in Excel or something (first column, client name, second column, state) - then CTRL+F to find the client before scrolling left and OCRing the text back in. But, funnily enough, that seemed like far more trouble than should really be necessary.

Probably the best solution would be to read from a file or something, but I'm open to suggestions. Do you have any good ideas?

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Tue May 19, 2009 12:18 pm

The syntax should be:

Position>Client,Statename,1,Location

(unless you have IGNORESPACES on you should remove all spaces and unless you have VAREXPLICIT on you do not need to % % the variables. Also do not need the { } chars)

This will of course give you the character position of the substring. That may not be what you want. You could use Separate to split the list into an array and then loop through the array to determine the array index of the item if that is what you meant.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts