simple dialog problem

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
CatBreath
Junior Coder
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12 pm

simple dialog problem

Post by CatBreath » Sat Jul 30, 2005 1:20 pm

I'm very confused...
Shouldn't this script display "Something I Wrote"?

Dialog>Dialog1
Caption=Dialog2
Top=192
Width=170
Left=16
Height=109
Edit=Name,24,16,121,Something I wrote.
Button=In a Message,40,40,75,25,1
EndDialog>Dialog1
Show>Dialog1,result
If>result=1
Message>%Name%
ENDIF

Instead it just displays "%Name%"...

Help please!

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3501
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Sat Jul 30, 2005 2:07 pm

Catbreath,

The proper name of the variable is "Dialog1.Name" . Your script should work if you change the message line.

Dialog>Dialog1
Caption=Dialog2
Top=192
Width=170
Left=16
Height=109
Edit=Name,24,16,121,Something I wrote.
Button=In a Message,40,40,75,25,1
EndDialog>Dialog1
Show>Dialog1,result
If>result=1
Message>%Dialog1.Name%
ENDIF

Hope this was helpful,
Dick

CatBreath
Junior Coder
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12 pm

Post by CatBreath » Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:27 pm

Thank you very much!
All works perfectly now!

Post Reply
cron
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts