Add> and Sub> doesn't allow for dynamic variables

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 689
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Add> and Sub> doesn't allow for dynamic variables

Post by Grovkillen » Wed Mar 03, 2021 7:40 am

This doesn't work:

Code: Select all

Let>var_1=0
Let>var_2=0
Let>var_3=0
Let>k=0
Repeat>k
  Let>k=k+1
  Add>var_%k%,1
  //Sub>var_%k%,1
Until>k=3
And I need to do this to make it work:

Code: Select all

Let>var_1=0
Let>var_2=0
Let>var_3=0
Let>k=0
Repeat>k
  Let>k=k+1
  Let>temp_value=var_%k%
  Add>temp_value,1
  Let>var_%k%=temp_value
Until>k=3
Let>, GoSub> etc. allows for dynamic variable naming and intuitively I thought Add> and Sub> also allowed for this.
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.19b
version history

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 938
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: Add> and Sub> doesn't allow for dynamic variables

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Wed Mar 03, 2021 12:31 pm

Add was deprecated by Let for numeric calculations. It seems to do what you're expecting if you use Let instead.

Code: Select all

Let>var_1=0
Let>var_2=0
Let>var_3=0
Let>k=0
Repeat>k
  Let>k=k+1
  Let>var_%k%=var_%k%+1
  //Sub>var_%k%,1
Until>k=3
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 689
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Add> and Sub> doesn't allow for dynamic variables

Post by Grovkillen » Wed Mar 03, 2021 12:54 pm

Ok so it should be removed then? I kinda like to use those two commands.
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.19b
version history

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 938
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: Add> and Sub> doesn't allow for dynamic variables

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Wed Mar 03, 2021 3:06 pm

I think that's personal preference. It's been kept in for the sake of backward compatibility, but as you've discovered there may be times where it isn't suitable.
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts