Strange Error Message
Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL
-
- Macro Veteran
- Posts: 247
- Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:32 am
Strange Error Message
What causes the MS error "No context-sensitive help installed."? Thanks.
- Dorian (MJT support)
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1378
- Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
- Contact:
Re: Strange Error Message
You're the first person to ever ask this. It's not an error we're familiar with. Context sensitive help is when you press F1 in the editor with a command selected, and it takes you to the help file for that command. Try rebooting or restarting macro Scheduler and see if it comes back. Then try reinstalling. In my 10 years here and in all my available historical ticket searches this has never been asked. Sometimes we see antivirus software cause odd issues, but this isn't one that we're aware of.
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here
-
- Macro Veteran
- Posts: 247
- Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:32 am
Re: Strange Error Message
Same error again. Restarting MS didn't help.
MS doesn't seem to like this line, " HoldKey>VK112,1,0".
Using VK_F1 removes the error.
MS doesn't seem to like this line, " HoldKey>VK112,1,0".
Code: Select all
SRT>Pause
SetDialogProperty>Dialog1,Label2,Caption,SRT>Pause
Let>k=0
Repeat>k
Add>k,1
HoldKey>VK112,1,0
Wait>{0.01 * (%k% - 1) * (%k% - 1)}
HoldKey>2,1,0
Wait>{0.01 * (%k% - 1) * (%k% - 1)}
Until>k,3
SetDialogProperty>Dialog1,Label1,Caption,Status: PAUSED
END>Pause
- Dorian (MJT support)
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1378
- Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
- Contact:
Re: Strange Error Message
If I add Gosub>Pause at the beginning and run the code as is, there's no error. However, if I add a dialog and tinker with things so F1 is pressed when the dialog is open, I get the same error as you.
This script replicates the error (upon manually pressing F1), whether run from inside or outside the editor, or run from a compiled script. It seems pressing F1 from within a
I'll mention this to Marcus.
This script replicates the error (upon manually pressing F1), whether run from inside or outside the editor, or run from a compiled script. It seems pressing F1 from within a
Code: Select all
Dialog>Dialog1
object Dialog1: TForm
Left = 1073
Top = 214
HelpContext = 5000
BorderIcons = [biSystemMenu]
Caption = 'CustomDialog'
ClientHeight = 394
ClientWidth = 1170
Color = clBtnFace
Font.Charset = DEFAULT_CHARSET
Font.Color = clWindowText
Font.Height = -28
Font.Name = 'MS Sans Serif'
Font.Style = []
OldCreateOrder = True
ShowHint = True
OnTaskBar = False
PixelsPerInch = 240
TextHeight = 32
object Label1: TLabel
Left = 416
Top = 136
Width = 164
Height = 64
Caption = 'Label1'
end
end
EndDialog>Dialog1
Show>Dialog1
label>start
wait>0.1
goto>start
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here
- Dorian (MJT support)
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1378
- Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
- Contact:
Re: Strange Error Message
He's looking into it.
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here
- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7393
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
Re: Strange Error Message
HelpContext is set to 5000. It is therefore trying to load a help topic from a non existent help file. Try changing that value to 0 or just remove the line altogether.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
- Dorian (MJT support)
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1378
- Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
- Contact:
Re: Strange Error Message
Thanks Marcus.
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here
Re: Strange Error Message
That line has been in the default dialog definition since v12 was introduced. Here's a 12 year old example.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6187&p=27423&hilit= ... ext#p27423
Does the HelpContext line accomplish anything? Until now, never heard of it causing any issues.
Unless I want to alter a line such as the color, I usually run through and delete most of the boilerplate lines at the top of the dialog definition just to remove them from view. Dialog 2 below will display exactly the same as Dialog1 but has 14 fewer lines.
I've never been able to cause a dialog to display in a specific position on the screen using "Left" and "Top" within the dialog definition. You can use SetDialogProperty> or MoveWindow> to position a dialog. No idea what HelpContext might be used for. And every line past Client Width in Dialog 1 above defaults to the value shown if you leave it out of the dialog definition.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6187&p=27423&hilit= ... ext#p27423
Does the HelpContext line accomplish anything? Until now, never heard of it causing any issues.
Unless I want to alter a line such as the color, I usually run through and delete most of the boilerplate lines at the top of the dialog definition just to remove them from view. Dialog 2 below will display exactly the same as Dialog1 but has 14 fewer lines.
Code: Select all
Dialog>Dialog1
object Dialog1: TForm
Left = 661
Top = 207
HelpContext = 5000
BorderIcons = [biSystemMenu]
Caption = 'Dialog 1'
ClientHeight = 211
ClientWidth = 476
Color = clBtnFace
Font.Charset = DEFAULT_CHARSET
Font.Color = clWindowText
Font.Height = -11
Font.Name = 'MS Sans Serif'
Font.Style = []
OldCreateOrder = True
ShowHint = True
OnTaskBar = False
PixelsPerInch = 96
TextHeight = 13
end
EndDialog>Dialog1
Show>Dialog1
Dialog>Dialog2
object Dialog2: TForm
BorderIcons = [biSystemMenu]
Caption = 'Dialog 2'
ClientHeight = 211
ClientWidth = 476
end
EndDialog>Dialog2
Show>Dialog2,
-
- Macro Veteran
- Posts: 247
- Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:32 am
Re: Strange Error Message
I removed the line. No issues yet. Thanks!Marcus Tettmar wrote: ↑Thu Oct 06, 2022 2:20 pmHelpContext is set to 5000. It is therefore trying to load a help topic from a non existent help file. Try changing that value to 0 or just remove the line altogether.