IEClickTag Possible Bug

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)

Post Reply
OrangeAndBlue
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:19 pm

IEClickTag Possible Bug

Post by OrangeAndBlue » Thu May 01, 2014 5:37 pm

I've been using WebRecorder functions since original v14. Not sure if this problem is related to the most recent update this past week.

Currently I'm having an issue with IEClickTag that results in the tag being clicked, but never returning from the function call. This is isolated to the case where the tag being clicked results in IE throwing a warning dialog box up.

Pseudo code:

Code: Select all

1)   IEClickTag>"x"
2)   (IE Warning dialog box appears)
3)   **Breakpoint**
4)   Use image recognition (or manual click) to pass warning box
I can never get to breakpoint because it doesn't return from IEClickTag. Putting a breakpoint after IEClickTag shows that the warning box (result of click) does appear, but the breakpoint can be reached after manually clicking the warning box.

While my code above is scripted as 1,2,3,4... The only way to pass the sequence is to go 1,2,4,3 (where step 4 is my manual mouse click).

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: IEClickTag Possible Bug

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Thu May 01, 2014 6:11 pm

Hi,

Unfortunately this is the way it works. The command cannot complete until IE returns back. And since the click causes IE to pop up a dialog - which is outside of the DOM, the command does not complete until the dialog is closed.

We're investigating if there is any way round this.

In the mean time you could try a different method, such as UIClick, or image recognition or set focus to the element with IETagEvent... and then Press Enter, or some other method (e.g. if it just causes a navigate then extract the URL or javascript and navigate direct).
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

OrangeAndBlue
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:19 pm

Re: IEClickTag Possible Bug

Post by OrangeAndBlue » Thu May 01, 2014 6:18 pm

Thanks for the quick reply Marcus.

I was hoping to keep my v14.0 codebase across the project but as you said, it may not be possible. However, I'm investigating UIClick now and it is a pretty intelligent command. I think I can use it. Thank you.

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: IEClickTag Possible Bug

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Thu May 01, 2014 6:22 pm

OrangeAndBlue wrote:Thanks for the quick reply Marcus.

I was hoping to keep my v14.0 codebase across the project but as you said, it may not be possible. However, I'm investigating UIClick now and it is a pretty intelligent command. I think I can use it. Thank you.
That statement confuses me a bit. This hasn't changed. It has always been the case (in my experience) that clicktag will not return until all events the click causes have completed. Further more there were no changes whatsoever to how clicktag works between 14.0 and 14.1
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

OrangeAndBlue
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:19 pm

Re: IEClickTag Possible Bug

Post by OrangeAndBlue » Thu May 01, 2014 6:27 pm

If there hasn't been any change to the command then I'm not sure how this problem has developed. I've been automating this task for some time now (as early as this past week) and never run into this. Short of there being a change to IE or specified website, I'm at a loss how the problem could have arose.

FYI - There are certain dialogs that the command can still pass. It just seems to be this sticky one that is a problem. Actually, it is the second time I both trigger IEClickTag on that element, and receive the dialog, that results in the execution halting. The first time, and other pop up dialogs, I can handle.

That being said, in the time between now and my last post, I've already solved the problem with your new UIClick command.

Thanks again.

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts