dde comma problem

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)

Post Reply
dex

dde comma problem

Post by dex » Sun Mar 14, 2004 9:57 pm

hi,

(i dont know if its only a problem with DDERequest>)

here the problem:

syntax is:
DDERequest>Server,Topic,Item,Result,Timeout

if Item has a comma then there is a bug?

for example Item may be: "hi, how are you"
then this will not work because of the comma.
without it works.

i have already tried %Item% and Item
but none of them works..

any idea?

User avatar
Bob Hansen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 2475
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:47 am
Location: Salem, New Hampshire, US
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen » Mon Mar 15, 2004 6:13 am

i have already tried %Item% and Item but none of them works..
Please provide exact code used that does not work
Hope this was helpful..................good luck,
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!

User avatar
support
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 4:38 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by support » Mon Mar 15, 2004 9:19 am

Hi,

For any command, if a parameter needs a comma in it just declare the variable separately and supply the variable to the command:

Let>Item=Hello, World
DDERequest>Server,Topic,Item,Result,Timeout

etc
MJT Net Support
[email protected]

dex

Post by dex » Mon Mar 15, 2004 10:20 am

hi,

if have tried again now it looks like that:

if i use % then i have the problem with the comma
but this problem seems to be solved if i dont use %

but if i dont use the % there is an other problem.
if Item has a text with CRLF then only the part until
the CRLF is used with the DDE call.

after i have written this ^^ i have tried it again and it worked correct.

then i tried it with the same clipboard content.. and it showed
an other effect:
my dde application only gets a XTYP_CONNECT_CONFIRM
from mshed.. after this nothing comes.. and mshed times out

sometimes mshed does not time out.. and uses 100% cpu.. no reaction.

i dont know if it is a problem with mshed. maybe it is a bug in my app?!


i dont know what to do because of that different side effects with the same
input..

next i check my code.

dex

Post by dex » Mon Mar 15, 2004 10:24 pm

hi,

the problem seems to be the 256 chars limit DdeCreateStringHandle.

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts