EXE compiled on XP does not work with Vista
Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)
EXE compiled on XP does not work with Vista
Hello,
I need your helps. I wrote a very simple code to open Internet Explorer, login to a website, search for some pharse, and stop if the pharse is found. I used Web Recorder, and complied the file on my main computer that has Window XP. I ran this EXE on a Window Vista computer, and it does not work (no Internet explorer opens). What should I do?
Thank you very much for your help.
Yen
I need your helps. I wrote a very simple code to open Internet Explorer, login to a website, search for some pharse, and stop if the pharse is found. I used Web Recorder, and complied the file on my main computer that has Window XP. I ran this EXE on a Window Vista computer, and it does not work (no Internet explorer opens). What should I do?
Thank you very much for your help.
Yen
Yen N Price
- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
Have you included IEAuto.dll and IEAuto.ini in an Imports folder with your EXE?
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
Hi,
Thank you very much for your fast respond. I included the import folder, and the script works now.
Now I run into another problem that need your help again.
I installed Web Recorder and MS onto another computer that have Window Vista. Using Web Recorder, I wrote a super simple script
MouseMove>0,0
Let>delay=1
IE_Create>0,IE[1]
let>i=0
repeat>i
IE_Navigate>%IE[1]%,http://dashboard.pcvmurcor.com/mobile,r
IE_Wait>%IE[1]%,r
Wait>delay
Let>FrameName={""}
Let>FormName={"frmMobLogin"}
Let>FieldName={"txtUser"}
Let>FieldValue={"***"}
IE_FormFill>%IE[1]%,str:FrameName,str:FormName,str:FieldName,str:FieldValue,0,r
Let>FrameName={""}
Let>FormName={"frmMobLogin"}
Let>FieldName={"txtPass"}
Let>FieldValue={"***"}
IE_FormFill>%IE[1]%,str:FrameName,str:FormName,str:FieldName,str:FieldValue,0,r
Let>FrameName={""}
Let>FormName={"frmMobLogin"}
Let>TagValue={"cmdSubmit"}
IE_ClickTag>%IE[1]%,str:FrameName,str:FormName,INPUT,NAME,str:TagValue,r
IE_Wait>%IE[1]%,r
Wait>delay
This program works fine with window XP, but when I tried to run it on Vista, I got problem. When I tried to run the program using Vista, the system created 2 Internet Explorer: the first one is just Connecting ..., the second one take me to the PCv website, but not log in, and the program is still running. The program is still running if I close the IE that have PCV website, but if I close the other IE, an Error message appear: "Line 20 Error calling DLL - Posible wrong number or type of parameter".
How can I fix it?
Thank you
Yen
Thank you very much for your fast respond. I included the import folder, and the script works now.
Now I run into another problem that need your help again.
I installed Web Recorder and MS onto another computer that have Window Vista. Using Web Recorder, I wrote a super simple script
MouseMove>0,0
Let>delay=1
IE_Create>0,IE[1]
let>i=0
repeat>i
IE_Navigate>%IE[1]%,http://dashboard.pcvmurcor.com/mobile,r
IE_Wait>%IE[1]%,r
Wait>delay
Let>FrameName={""}
Let>FormName={"frmMobLogin"}
Let>FieldName={"txtUser"}
Let>FieldValue={"***"}
IE_FormFill>%IE[1]%,str:FrameName,str:FormName,str:FieldName,str:FieldValue,0,r
Let>FrameName={""}
Let>FormName={"frmMobLogin"}
Let>FieldName={"txtPass"}
Let>FieldValue={"***"}
IE_FormFill>%IE[1]%,str:FrameName,str:FormName,str:FieldName,str:FieldValue,0,r
Let>FrameName={""}
Let>FormName={"frmMobLogin"}
Let>TagValue={"cmdSubmit"}
IE_ClickTag>%IE[1]%,str:FrameName,str:FormName,INPUT,NAME,str:TagValue,r
IE_Wait>%IE[1]%,r
Wait>delay
This program works fine with window XP, but when I tried to run it on Vista, I got problem. When I tried to run the program using Vista, the system created 2 Internet Explorer: the first one is just Connecting ..., the second one take me to the PCv website, but not log in, and the program is still running. The program is still running if I close the IE that have PCV website, but if I close the other IE, an Error message appear: "Line 20 Error calling DLL - Posible wrong number or type of parameter".
How can I fix it?
Thank you
Yen
Yen N Price
- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
Did you disable Protected Mode? You need to disable protected mode on Vista: in IE go to Tools/Internet Options and on the security tab disable Protected Mode. If that doesn't help it may be another setting.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
Yes, the Protected Mode is off. When I run the exe, if I just doouble click on the exe file, the same problem happen. But if I right click on the exe file, then select Run As Administrator, then the program works fine. I think the Administration right has something to do with it. I still don't know how to log in as Admin. Do you have any ideas?
Yen
Yen
Yen N Price
- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
You don't need admin privs: I'm running it just fine under regular Vista with UAC enabled as a regular user. You must have some security setting in IE that is causing this. Look at the security options in IE and see if you see anything relevant. Make sure "allow scripting of web browser control" (something like that - I'm not on a PC right now) is enabled. You could just try lowering the security level. I'm sure it is just an option in IE that is causing this. When I'm back at my desk I'll see if I can find out what specific settings cause this.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
I just find a work around, even it seem dumb, but it works for me: When I start MS, I right click it and select run as Admin. Everything work fine after that. If you can figure out some smarter and more permanent solutions, please help me out.
I really appreciate your fast respond.
Thank you
Yen
I really appreciate your fast respond.
Thank you
Yen
Yen N Price
- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
You really don't need to do that. I'm sure the problem is Protected Mode. Protected Mode causes the Navigate to open up a new window. You just need to make sure Protected Moda is disabled. Are you *sure* it is disabled? Try closing ALL IE windows then go onto Internet Settings and disable Protected Mode. Then restart.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
You are right. The weir thing is on the bottom of my IE, it said Protective Mode: OFF. That's why I said earlier that it is off. But when I double click on the Security Setting, it is still Enable! I diable it and the program works like it suppose to.
Thank you very much for your help. You are great!
Thank you very much for your help. You are great!
Yen N Price