Opening up Firefox instead of IE
Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)
Opening up Firefox instead of IE
I have the following functioning code, but wish to open up firefox versus IE. Any suggestions?
VBStart
Sub OpenPage(URL,Wait)
Dim IE
Set IE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
IE.visible = 1
IE.navigate URL
do while IE.Busy and Wait
loop
End Sub
VBEND
VBRun>OpenPage,http:\\www.mjtnet.com,1
VBStart
Sub OpenPage(URL,Wait)
Dim IE
Set IE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
IE.visible = 1
IE.navigate URL
do while IE.Busy and Wait
loop
End Sub
VBEND
VBRun>OpenPage,http:\\www.mjtnet.com,1
- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
It's not possible. Firefox is a completely different product. It doesn't have a COM interface. Therefore it cannot be scripted with VBScript.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
From the info in this thread I'd guess its not possible to do this with FireFox.
- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
One of the reasons Firefox is more secure than IE is precisely because it is not as easily scripted. And, anyway, why does it need to be? Even if Firefox is your preferred browser (as it is mine) what is wrong with Macro Scheduler using IE for automation? By definition if something is being automated you can leave it to get on with it. Should it therefore matter that YOU use Firefox and Macro Scheduler uses IE? IE is on every PC anyway. On our PCs it only ever gets used for automation while us humans stick to Firefox.
If, for some unfathomable reason, you really really need to automate Firefox, image recognition is one reliable method. Or AppNavigator.
If, for some unfathomable reason, you really really need to automate Firefox, image recognition is one reliable method. Or AppNavigator.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
-
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1101
- Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
- Location: Somewhere else on the planet
You can always
RunProgram>"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" http://www.google.com
but you'll need to write a lot of other code to get the same level of control you would have with IE.
RunProgram>"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" http://www.google.com
but you'll need to write a lot of other code to get the same level of control you would have with IE.
Ok now I understand... it's basically not possible to script Firefox.
However, I did find this thread (http://www.mjtnet.com/usergroup/viewtop ... ht=browser) and it works with whatever is your default browser! In this case, firefox opens up for me!!
check out that thread.. .it may be the answer
Thanks to all for attempting to help!!!!
However, I did find this thread (http://www.mjtnet.com/usergroup/viewtop ... ht=browser) and it works with whatever is your default browser! In this case, firefox opens up for me!!
Code: Select all
RegistryReadKey>HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE,SOFTWARE\Classes\HTTP\Shell\Open\command,,value
Separate>value,.EXE,var
Let>url=http://www.mjtnet.com
Run>"%var_1%.exe" "%URL%"
Thanks to all for attempting to help!!!!
- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
Yes, that's fine if you only want to open firefox. But you won't then be able to script it as you can IE.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
Or you can also use a simple one liner to open URL's in fire fox!
Code: Select all
exe>FIREFOX,http://www.mjtnet.com