Macro stops running/conflict with another program?

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)

Post Reply
bluegnu
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:09 am

Macro stops running/conflict with another program?

Post by bluegnu » Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:07 pm

I have a program which simulates telephone and radio calls to create test data within a call logger.

I have recently installed this on a new PC as the old one was getting on a bit.. I had successfully been using a point and click macro in macro scheduler to stop and start the program, but I thought I would make it a bit better.

Problem is that there seems to be a conflict when the program starts between it an macro scheduler. The macro doesn't finish and the and I can't stop it without closing the program first. This is the code:

Code: Select all

IfWindowOpen>C:\WINNT\System32\cmd.exe
SetFocus>C:\WINNT\System32\cmd.exe
Press f3
Wait>3
EndIf
IfWindowOpen>ATIAPacketPlayer
SetFocus>ATIAPacketPlayer
CloseWindow>ATIAPacketPlayer
Wait>3
EndIf
'Run Program>cmd /c agmon -f ag.cfg
'WaitWindowOpen>C:\WINNT\System32\cmd.exe
Change Directory>d:\
Run Program>D:\ATIATestHarness.exe
WaitWindowOpen>Choose Player
PushButton>Choose Player,Play a Capture File
PushButton>Choose Player,OK >>>>>>>>>>THIS IS WHERE THE LOGGING STOPS
Wait>4
Press ALT
wait>1
send>f
wait>1
Release ALT
Press ALT
wait>1
Send>o
Wait>1
Release Alt
The program loads a dialog which you have to make a selection, then click OK. Then the program loads proper and the macro doesn't finish unless I close it down again.

This is an NT4 PC.

bluegnu
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:09 am

Post by bluegnu » Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:12 am

Does anyone have any idea about this?

thanks

User avatar
pgriffin
Automation Wizard
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:56 pm
Location: US and Europe

Post by pgriffin » Wed Feb 14, 2007 2:56 pm

Not having the same programs installed, I can't say exactly what might be going on. Could you try having the program wait for some seconds between the pushbutton commands to see if the wait is logged? Timing is always an issue with any automation. Not that it is THE solution, but it is an idea.

Let us know if the script logs the wait or not.

bluegnu
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:09 am

Post by bluegnu » Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:33 pm

Thanks for the response.

The Log shows (as the last entry before appearing to get stuck):

Code: Select all

START: PushButton>Choose Player, OK
It successfully pushes the button, but for some reason doesn't end the pushbutton. The application launches OK, but MS gets stuck - could this be because it doesn't realise it's pushed the button?

bluegnu
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:09 am

Post by bluegnu » Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:47 pm

Well rather stupidly I didn't try the option of MouseOver and that appears to have done the trick.

Thanks for your help.

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts