How to Minimize a Window to System Tray Instead of Task Bar

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)

Post Reply
dumlupinar
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 7:22 pm
Location: Turkey

How to Minimize a Window to System Tray Instead of Task Bar

Post by dumlupinar » Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:46 am

I use dictionaries in my studies, i want to minimize my dictionary (Collins Cobuilt Advanced Learners Dictionary) to system tray instead of task bar.... Is this possible?
My code is as follows:


Change Directory>C:\Program Files\Collins COBUILD\Cobuild Dictionary 2006\
run program>ccd.exe
waitready>0

ResizeWindow>Collins COBUILD Dictionary on CD-ROM 2006,710,750
MoveWindow>Collins COBUILD Dictionary on CD-ROM 2006,315,0

Change Directory>C:\Program Files\Babylon\Babylon-Pro\
run program>Babylon.exe

windowaction>2,Collins COBUILD Dictionary on CD-ROM 2006
repeat>k

waitkeydown>vk4
wait>0.5
mup
press ctrl
Send Character/Text>c
Release ctrl

windowaction>0,Collins COBUILD Dictionary on CD-ROM 2006
setfocus>Collins COBUILD Dictionary on CD-ROM 2006

press ctrl
send>v
Release ctrl

waitkeydown>vk2

zindowaction>2,Collins COBUILD Dictionary on CD-ROM 2006



Let>k=0
Let>k=k+1
Until>k

User avatar
pgriffin
Automation Wizard
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:56 pm
Location: US and Europe

Post by pgriffin » Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:09 pm

First a suggestion...Not that it makes much functional difference, just a general rule I find prevents other problems....

instead of

Change Directory>C:\Program Files\Collins COBUILD\Cobuild Dictionary 2006\
run program>ccd.exe

use just one line

run>c:\Program files\Collins COBUILD\Cobuild Dictionary 2006\ccd.exe

as for the minimize to systray....

I use Babylon as well and there is a setting to minimize Babylon to the systray, so you should be able to change a setting in Babylon without trying to accomplish this in macroscheduler.

Not the answers you had hoped for, I'm sure, but a way to get the same end result (at least for Babylon)

dumlupinar
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 7:22 pm
Location: Turkey

Post by dumlupinar » Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:06 pm

SkunkWorks wrote:First a suggestion...Not that it makes much functional difference, just a general rule I find prevents other problems....

I use Babylon as well and there is a setting to minimize Babylon to the systray, so you should be able to change a setting in Babylon without trying to accomplish this in macroscheduler.

Not the answers you had hoped for, I'm sure, but a way to get the same end result (at least for Babylon)
Ok. thanks for your advice, but, i also use baybylon from systray but, the problem is how to send other one to tray (i mean Collins Cobuild Dictionary)...

I'm waiting advices... thanks..

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:08 pm

There's actually no such thing as "minimize to system tray". In fact there is technically no such thing as the "system tray". What we often hear referred to as the system tray is actually called the "Task notification area". Applications have to programmatically place an icon there, then listen for the message that says someone clicked on the icon. Some developers create an exe which does nothing but place an icon in the tray, listen for the messages and then start another app. Or have the one app which hides itself and intercepts the standard minimize event to make it hide itself when someone clicks the minimize icon. In short, "minimizing to the system tray" is one enormous workaround. So there is no simple switch or setting that will let you minimize any old application to the system tray. But there are third party apps out there which will create a system tray icon, link it to the application of your choice and then try to intercept that app's minimize event to hide it. One is called AllTray: http://alltray.sourceforge.net/

You'll find others on google.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts