Anything Really. Just keep it clean!
Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)
-
JRL
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 3532
- Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
- Location: Iowa
Post
by JRL » Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:21 pm
I have a script I use to compile. It has one line.
Code: Select all
RunProgram>%Script_Dir%\Extract_Compile.exe
It has been working for me for quite a while but it just failed when I tried to use it today.
---------------------------
Information
---------------------------
Error in : Compile
Line: 5 - Error Executing C:\Documents and Settings\dickl\My Documents\Macro Scheduler 14\Extract_Compile.exe (193:Ȍ)
---------------------------
OK Abort
---------------------------
I put the one line in Macro Scheduler 13 and it failed there also. This would suggest a Windows update caused the failure. Anyone know what might be going on?
If I change RunProgram> to ExecuteFile> the script works fine. RunProgram >Notepad works fine so apparently only unsigned executables fail?
-
hoangvo81
- Pro Scripter
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:02 pm
Post
by hoangvo81 » Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:24 pm
but try adding
LET>RP_ADMIN=1
before the runprogram
i had issue with runprogram but adding that seems to work in mine.. even though i am an admin on the pc.
-
JRL
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 3532
- Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
- Location: Iowa
Post
by JRL » Tue Dec 03, 2013 9:09 pm
I had tried that earlier and got a windows crash message but I was attempting to run under my credentials which have admin privileges. Just used administrator credentials and it worked. If this is the new normal, I'm going to shorten the administrator password.
-
JRL
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 3532
- Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
- Location: Iowa
Post
by JRL » Tue Dec 03, 2013 9:47 pm
hoangvo81, Thanks for your input. Very much appreciated.
My new program. No longer one line but it works.
What good is "security" that is this easy to bypass?
Code: Select all
LabelToVar>ScriptText,vData
DeleteFile>%temp_dir%BypassSecurity.scp
WriteLn>%temp_dir%BypassSecurity.scp,wres,vData
ExecuteFile>%temp_dir%BypassSecurity.scp
ExecuteFile>%Script_Dir%\Extract_Compile.exe
/*
ScriptText:
Let>WW_TIMEOUT=5
WaitWindowOpen>Open File - Security Warning
Wait>1
Send>r
*/
-
hoangvo81
- Pro Scripter
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:02 pm
Post
by hoangvo81 » Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:29 pm
have you try turning off UAC on that PC? and see if that helps?
-
JRL
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 3532
- Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
- Location: Iowa
Post
by JRL » Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:46 pm
No. UAC is probably a good thing. I'd feel really stupid if I turned it off then infected my computer.
I was just surprised by the initial failure. Then surprised again by how easy it is to write a program that defeats Window's security. That said, my code actually runs a program from a program. The first program is running and completes the security question for the second program. I doubt you could create a single executable that has the ability to bypass the UAC.
Anyone have any ideas on how that might be done?
-
hoangvo81
- Pro Scripter
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:02 pm
Post
by hoangvo81 » Thu Dec 05, 2013 6:11 pm
also UAC in windows 8's look and feel is different than 7 but thats a good challenge, i m curious.