Another Permissions Error

General Macro Scheduler discussion

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
fightcancer
Macro Veteran
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:32 am

Another Permissions Error

Post by fightcancer » Thu Nov 09, 2023 5:18 pm

When I use the hotkey to start a macro I get the error, "Hotkey script is in use - cannot run"

So I can't use hotkey to start the macro. However, I can immediately run the macro from the MS15 window with Ctrl + R, or by clicking Run.

I can't open or edit the macro in question through MS15. I get the error, 'Cannot open file "[path]" The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process'

I can't even rename the macro through Windows Explorer.

So I can run a macro through MS15, but not with the shortcut key, and I can't edit it in MS15.

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7374
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: Another Permissions Error

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Sat Nov 11, 2023 11:40 am

What happens after a full restart and using a different hot key, such as ctrl + alt + r. Ctrl r is likely used by something else.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

fightcancer
Macro Veteran
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:32 am

Re: Another Permissions Error

Post by fightcancer » Sun Nov 12, 2023 7:07 pm

Marcus Tettmar wrote:
Sat Nov 11, 2023 11:40 am
What happens after a full restart and using a different hot key, such as ctrl + alt + r. Ctrl r is likely used by something else.
No change after a restart.

I don't know how to use a different hotkey without opening the macro in MS15, and I can't open or edit the macro in question through MS15. I get the error, 'Cannot open file "[path]" The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process'

Ctrl + R works to run the macro when focus is on MS15. That's the only way I can run the macro.

EDIT: days later after several restarts I can use the hotkey to run the macro and I can edit it.

Jiyahana
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2024 10:03 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Another Permissions Error

Post by Jiyahana » Mon Jan 29, 2024 8:37 am

Try closing other applications or restarting your system. If problem again comes then check the file permission for the macro in windows explorer.

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts