XLGetSelectedCell

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
AndrewT
Junior Coder
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 6:06 pm

XLGetSelectedCell

Post by AndrewT » Mon May 18, 2020 2:59 pm

I have a new program using the XLGetSelectedCell command and it works on my computer (Windows 10, Excel 2016) when run from MS, but when I compile the program and run it doesn't return values and doesn't throw an error. I am running MS V15.0.08.

Upon further investigation, I noticed a discrepancy between the command reference and the code builder. In the command reference it says "XLGetSeletedCell>XLBookHandle,SheetName,row,column" and in the code builder the format is "XLGetSeletedCell>XLBookHandle,value,row,column".

Wondering if this is a known bug, or if it is unique to me.

AndrewT
Junior Coder
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 6:06 pm

Re: XLGetSelectedCell

Post by AndrewT » Mon May 18, 2020 3:32 pm

**Update**
Upgrading to V15.0.09 seems to have fixed the compiled program.

Still a discrepancy between the Code Builder and Command Reference. Looks like the Code Builder format is the correct one.

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7192
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: XLGetSelectedCell

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Tue May 19, 2020 10:49 am

Hi,

Yes, you are right - the correct definition is:

XLGetSeletedCell>XLBookHandle,value,row,column

I have update the manual accordingly:
https://www.mjtnet.com/manuals/v15/HTML ... dcell.html
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts