Run command, capture STDOUT

Ideas for new features & functions

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Run command, capture STDOUT

Post by Grovkillen » Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:56 am

It would be really great if we could capture the STDOUT from a run command instead of having to rely on piping it to the clipboard or an external file. Something like this:

Code: Select all


Let>RP_CAPTURE_STDOUT=1
RunProgram>wmic path Win32_OperatingSystem get LastBootUpTime

//RP_STDOUT=20201202082216.500000+060

This incline that the RP_CAPTURE_STDOUT behaves like RP_WAIT=1 since we need to wait for the cmd to finish.
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.20
version history

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Run command, capture STDOUT

Post by Grovkillen » Wed Apr 14, 2021 12:20 pm

Would this be considered to be added?
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.20
version history

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7346
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: Run command, capture STDOUT

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Mon Apr 19, 2021 1:49 pm

Hi,

I have added this to the wish list for investigation.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Run command, capture STDOUT

Post by Grovkillen » Mon Apr 19, 2021 1:52 pm

Thanks for the feedback!
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.20
version history

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Run command, capture STDOUT

Post by Grovkillen » Sat Aug 14, 2021 1:49 pm

I'm currently coding a INI file handler which will support UTF8, delete (section/entry), timestamping of changes, concatinate value (front/back), timestamp to value, and a history log. It will be a terminal application. When requesting a value to be read or updated I want to be able to get this info straight from the command line and thus a capture of STDOUT would be awesome. *FINGERS CROSSED*
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.20
version history

fightcancer
Macro Veteran
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:32 am

Re: Run command, capture STDOUT

Post by fightcancer » Tue Jan 04, 2022 8:23 pm

Seconding this request!

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts