IEFormFill

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
Jlomers
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 4:11 pm

IEFormFill

Post by Jlomers » Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:43 pm

I am using FormFill to put text into an item on a webpage. I can tell this is kind of working, as the test shows in the box but does so as a light grey just like the "Search Here" default text and when the formsubmit function goes off it does not register that the data is in the box.

Is there something I am doing wrong?

I have tried to search this but formfill is in the default text of webrecorded scripts so I get a lot of results but have not been able to find a search phrase that limits it to relevant results.

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7380
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: IEFormFill

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Thu Jun 28, 2018 11:34 am

Nothing you are doing wrong. It sounds like the web site is not "accepting" your input. IEFormFill is setting the value of the input field directly. It is doing all it can. But my guess is that this web site is doing something extra with javascript like watching for keystrokes and then processing what is accepted "behind the scenes". Some kind of validation script perhaps. So the end result is that this verification script doesn't "see" the value because there was nothing entered by the keyboard.

So what you may need to do instead is to focus the field. Use SetFocus to focus the IE window, then use IETagEventByAttrib with the "focus" event, or tab into the field. And then use SendText to send the text in. This should then trigger the javascript which is looking for real key entry. I expect this will work.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

Jlomers
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 4:11 pm

Re: IEFormFill

Post by Jlomers » Thu Jun 28, 2018 4:06 pm

Worked! Thank you!

Though I wish I didn't have to use this as when using key strokes, I have to have the sk_delay set so high that it almost triples the time it takes to complete one loop. If I speed up the key strokes the site does not register them all and it only takes 2 of every 3 letters. Sigh, I am just complaining.

druiz_fe
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 7:42 pm

Re: IEFormFill

Post by druiz_fe » Tue Jul 21, 2020 3:49 pm

Is it possible to see an example show the script would look like? I'm having similar issue with a site that is using Telerik controls and it has become a nightmare.

Thanks in advance,

DR

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: IEFormFill

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Tue Jul 21, 2020 4:57 pm

druiz_fe wrote:
Tue Jul 21, 2020 3:49 pm
Is it possible to see an example show the script would look like? I'm having similar issue with a site that is using Telerik controls and it has become a nightmare.

Thanks in advance,

DR
You can see a sample of that here.


To click a field, you'd to this :

Code: Select all

IETagEventByAttrib>https://www.bing.com/,INPUT,ID=sb_form_q,click,
To focus a field, you'd to this :

Code: Select all

IETagEventByAttrib>https://www.bing.com/,INPUT,ID=sb_form_q,focus,
Putting the Setfocus, IETagEventByAttrib, and SendText together, it would be something like this :

Code: Select all

SetFocus>MyWindow*
IETagEventByAttrib>https://www.bing.com/,INPUT,ID=sb_form_q,focus,
Send>TheText
The easiest way to generate the code for the IE command is with the Find IE Element Wizard.
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

Post Reply
cron
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts