Help getting started on Automating a Printing Process

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

OrangeView

Help getting started on Automating a Printing Process

Post by OrangeView » Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:16 pm

Hello, I am a laser operator that programs multiple PNGs with various print settings to send to a Co2 laser engraver. I am looking to automate the programing aspect of my job to save time, plus allowing me to do other tasks such as gather the materials for engraving. I have already sped up the process quite a bit by getting an X-keys keyboard to record macros. I have managed to cut all the mouse clicks & keystrokes down to three buttons for printing each size! It is a major time saver.
I would like to share some of what I do and walk you through the process, and what I have also assigned to the keyboard keys so you may understand my goal better. I am not asking for others to completely do this for me, but for guidance on where to start and how I would go about accomplishing tasks involved in writing scripts, dialog boxes, etc. Though I have no prior coding knowledge, I am green as it gets. So, I will say I am sorry in advance for all the questions I will be asking here in the forums.
So, let’s get started! I have 8 batches of images a day that get exported to 8 separate directories. In each of the 8 batches there are two sub batches (Handle & Non-Handle). In each sub batch folder (Handle & Non-Handle), there are 75 different folders that contain each size I print. Here is an example of the process and what I have assigned to keys. There are some steps that I will be wanting to add to the process.
Step 1:
I open up a directory. From there the 3 button presses do all of the clicks and keystrokes I use to have to manually do.
Step2: Button 1
I have the keyboard type 1.5x1.5, hit Enter to open that folder, CTRL+A to select all of the images, hit Enter to open them in Corel Photo Paint.
Step 3: Button 2