IE Desktop app

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
drunkenmonkey
Pro Scripter
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:52 am

IE Desktop app

Post by drunkenmonkey » Fri Apr 30, 2021 11:55 am

Hello my friend,
I have no clue how to automate this app.
It's a IE desktop web app. I have seen some of the tutorial item but dead end.
Can you help?
Thank's! :D
Heres's a picture of the app.
https://u.pcloud.link/publink/show?code ... qUXkOl2u5y
Here's the code behind the window.
https://u.pcloud.link/publink/show?code ... f8K8b5H2lV

drunkenmonkey
Pro Scripter
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:52 am

Re: IE Desktop app

Post by drunkenmonkey » Sat May 01, 2021 12:33 pm

Hi!
I have this caption from Windows System tool for the window
133054 - HwndWrapper[InsuranceElements.Clients.SunLife.Desktop.exe;;c1f561cf-668e-4831-b687-18d2b1e84b0e] "Sun Life Illustrations - Sun Life Financial"
So, the question is do I access a control. Sure with keystoke and mouse move, find image, I can achieve it but I want the script to be robust.
Thank you for your insight! :D

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: IE Desktop app

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Mon May 03, 2021 9:34 am

I find IEFormFill works best with the <select><option>

Code: Select all

<select producthasstrategy="True" selectlist="System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[System.String,System.String]" sorted="False" usergroup="" class="persistable chosen-select" id="coverages_0__TermID" name="coverages[0].TermID" style="display: none;"><option selected="selected" value="4_SLF_PAR_BASE_PROT_LIFEPAY">Life Pay</option>
<option value="4_SLF_PAR_BASE_PROT_LIMPAY10">10 Pay</option>
<option value="4_SLF_PAR_BASE_PROT_LIMPAY20">20 Pay</option>
</select>

Code: Select all

IEFormFill>IE[0],,,coverages[0].TermID,10 Pay,,res1
Side Note : "If the field is a SELECT object it is possible to select an item based on it's index, rather than actual value, by specifying fieldvalue as:

#INDEX#:n where n is the zero based index of the item.
"
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

drunkenmonkey
Pro Scripter
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:52 am

Re: IE Desktop app

Post by drunkenmonkey » Mon May 03, 2021 11:38 am

Thank you for your reply Dorian!
Question. How will I get the IE_Reference. This is a stand alone app with a wrapper.
Instance of IE is already created. So the other way it's with the IEGetFromURL command, but I don't see how this command could work with this wrapper.
Again thank for your help. :D

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts