ArrayCount

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
nodochau
Pro Scripter
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:59 pm

ArrayCount

Post by nodochau » Thu Sep 10, 2020 5:59 pm

Hello All,
I have some array and I want to know the number of items in each array.
array1, array2....array20
If I use the code below:
let>k=0
Repeat>k
Add>k,1
ArrayCount>array%k%,itemCount
mdl>itemCount
Until>k=20
The program is crashed.
Please help!

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: ArrayCount

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Thu Sep 10, 2020 6:59 pm

If I run your code without any arrays, I just get MDL returning zero 20 times.

However, if I use ArrayDim to create 20 arrays, mine hangs on ArrayCount too. In fact it hangs even if I simply create 1 array, and use ArrayCount in conjunction with a variable.

This hangs :

Code: Select all

ArrayCount>Array%k%,itemCount
This doesn't

Code: Select all

ArrayCount>Array1,itemCount
I haven't managed to figure out why yet. I will consult Marcus.

In the meantime, for anyone watching, this is the code I used to test :

Code: Select all

//Create the arrays
let>z=0
Repeat>z
Add>z,1
ArrayDim>array%z%,3
Let>array%z%_1=Fred
Let>array%z%_2=Sally
Let>array%z%_3=John
Until>z=5

let>k=0
Repeat>k
Add>k,1
//Warning - hangs
//ArrayCount>Array%k%,itemCount
ArrayCount>Array1,itemCount
mdl>itemCount
Until>k=5
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

nodochau
Pro Scripter
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:59 pm

Re: ArrayCount

Post by nodochau » Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:32 am

Yes, I have done the test as you did.
ArrayCount>array1, count: works but ArrayCount>array%k% will cause the program runs forever...

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: ArrayCount

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:48 am

I have made Marcus aware of our findings and of this thread, and we'll see what he comes up with.
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts