Question about IENavigate

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
drplath
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:51 pm

Question about IENavigate

Post by drplath » Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:06 pm

Hello. I just started learning how to use this tool and i am attempting to open an IE window, navigate to a URL then directly navigate to another URL. here is my code.

IECreate>IE[0]
IENavigate>%IE[0]%,FirstURL,ie_res1
IEWaitDocumentComplete>%IE[0]%,ieresult
IENavigate>%IE[0]%,SecondURL,ie_res2

The first navigate works, but the second does not, and it returns a 1 in ie_res2 when i step through the program. The IEWaitDocumentComplete i just added to test but I've tried just normal Wait commands in between to make sure the page is not doing anything. I have also tried basic URLs like google to make sure it was nothing weird with the URL i am actually using. I have a specific reason to go to these 2 websites and this is more for learning anyway so i'm just wondering if there is something i'm missing with IECreate/IENavigate, and if anyone has any idea why it would return a 1 in ie_rest2.

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: Question about IENavigate

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:25 pm

I tried this a few times, and wasn't able to reproduce it. I was getting a 0 for ie_res1 and ie_res2, using these URLs.

Code: Select all

IECreate>IE[0]
IENavigate>%IE[0]%,www.mjtnet.com,ie_res1
IEWaitDocumentComplete>%IE[0]%,ieresult
IENavigate>%IE[0]%,www.google.com,ie_res2

Code: Select all

IECreate>IE[0]
IENavigate>IE[0],www.mjtnet.com,ie_res1
IEWaitDocumentComplete>IE[0],ieresult
IENavigate>IE[0],www.google.com,ie_res2
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts