Macro controller

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
thiagunix
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 2:16 pm

Macro controller

Post by thiagunix » Tue May 05, 2020 5:59 pm

Good afternoon people,

I'm a beginner in Macro Scheduler. It used iMacros and ui.vision to automate processes.
I am migrated to the Macro Scheduler but I have doubts about whether I can build a macro that manages the execution of the others.
Example:
Macro Master checks if there is an item in the bank
if it exists runs macro1
if not, run macro2
So on.

All tasks are performed via chrome

Can anyone tell me if I can do this?

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 628
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: Macro controller

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Wed May 06, 2020 8:58 am

Hi,

I can't see why not. It's very rare we find something we can't automate. Of course without seeing the specific tasks we can't show you exactly how to do it, but it certainly sounds possible.
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 462
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Macro controller

Post by Grovkillen » Wed May 06, 2020 9:03 am

I do this and it works just fine. Ask Marcus about it (I sent him a video some months ago).
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.9

thiagunix
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 2:16 pm

Re: Macro controller

Post by thiagunix » Thu May 07, 2020 9:05 pm

I'm still creating Macros.

How do I run one macros from another?

How do I get a variable in the macro master that was created in the secondary macro.

Thanks

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 462
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Macro controller

Post by Grovkillen » Fri May 08, 2020 2:12 am

I have one controller script that is monitoring the rest plus start them, and reboot them if they get stalled. They all post info about them self to a heartbeat.ini file (PID, window handles etc). So my main ways of passing info between them are:

Ini files
Txt files
Command line switches (when they are started by the main controller)
UDP messages
Last edited by Grovkillen on Tue May 12, 2020 2:19 am, edited 2 times in total.
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.9

thiagunix
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 2:16 pm

Re: Macro controller

Post by thiagunix » Mon May 11, 2020 8:38 pm

That's exactly what I'm trying to do.

Do you have any examples or documentation?

Thank you

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 462
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Macro controller

Post by Grovkillen » Tue May 12, 2020 2:10 am

I have a ton but it's my intellectual property so if you want my help I would need you to pay me for my time.
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.9

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7191
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: Macro controller

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Wed May 13, 2020 8:52 am

thiagunix wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 9:05 pm
I'm still creating Macros.

How do I run one macros from another?

How do I get a variable in the macro master that was created in the secondary macro.

Thanks
You can 'call' another script with the Macro> command. With the Macro> command you can 'pass' variables into the called script. Or you can 'include' other macro files (therefore access it's variables etc) with the Include> command. See:

https://help.mjtnet.com/article/16-incl ... rary-files
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

thiagunix
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 2:16 pm

Re: Macro controller

Post by thiagunix » Wed May 13, 2020 7:24 pm

I had seen these includes and I didn't understand.

But now I understood

Thanks

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts