glitch when running script

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

MackAus

glitch when running script

Post by MackAus » Fri Jan 20, 2017 9:31 am

When i run script it appears to glitch even though the trace option goes over the line but fails to execute action this happens occasionally not always. This is making the marco i have written very unstable to run.
Also when i leave microsheduler on my pc running and come back in few hours it appears to do random things like clicking on random areas of the screen in return executing unwanted functions .
Even though im not running the script it appears the macro is randomly running.
Im not a expert at this so maybe im missing some option or something within your application that would stop this random action.

Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin

Re: glitch when running script

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Fri Jan 20, 2017 10:50 am

Hi,

I've never heard of anything like this. Macros don't just run without being scheduled or started normally. And it can only ever play back the steps that you have written/recorded. Are you able to share your macro here? Have you enabled logging to see what steps were executed?

Trace/debug will always execute each step it runs over. There's no way to prevent it from doing so. However, in some contexts it may *appear* like it's not doing anything. E.g. if you have this line:

Send>hello

And you don't have anything to ensure focus is switched then when you debug it the debugger itself has focus and therefore Send will try to type hello to IT but since it is in read only mode nothing will appear to happen. This is just a conundrum of debugging things which require focus. What I do is put a SetFocus line before a block of text sending and a breakpoint after and run to break point from the SetFocus line.

This may help:
http://help.mjtnet.com/article/7-using-the-debugger
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar