window recognizeing

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
Bilde
Junior Coder
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 3:19 pm
Location: Denmark

window recognizeing

Post by Bilde » Mon Nov 18, 2002 3:22 pm

hi there!
Is it possible to recognize a window without the title or koordinates?
If it is... how? :)

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7380
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Mon Nov 18, 2002 3:39 pm

Hi,

Not sure what you mean? What do you actually want to do? Without a name the window would be pretty difficult to 'recognise' or distinguish.

If you just want to wait for the active window to change that is easily achieved with a loop and GetActiveWindow, or the new WaitWindowChanged command.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

Bilde
Junior Coder
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 3:19 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Bilde » Mon Nov 18, 2002 4:52 pm

I'm using the setfocus command, to make sure i'm sending some commands to a IE window.
But sometime when the site loads, the title of the window change to "page not found", and I get the message "could'nt setfocus on 'window'" and the macro stops... Is it possible to ignore that warning?, or is there a smarter method?

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7380
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Mon Nov 18, 2002 6:49 pm

Use:

SetFocus>Internet Explorer*

Internet Explorer may change it's title, but it always has the words 'Internet Explorer' in it.

See the help explanation for the wildcard.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

Bilde
Junior Coder
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 3:19 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Bilde » Mon Nov 18, 2002 8:11 pm

hey that was a cool idea! I should have figured that out...
Thanks a lot! :D

hmm... but what if theres coming a popup window. It may not function properly then...
Any idea to that? :?

Bilde
Junior Coder
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 3:19 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Bilde » Mon Nov 18, 2002 9:41 pm

i have figured it out now:
i'm using the command "ifwindowopen" to get rid of unwanted windows :D

Ernest

Post by Ernest » Mon Nov 18, 2002 9:46 pm

Hi,
if a popup appears the IEWindow should loose the focus (it's title bar color will change).
With a periodical check [GetPixelColor] you should be able to track that.

and/or

with [GetActiveWindow] you'll (hopefully) get the popup title, which you'll use to [CloseWindow] ...


Sample:

Code: Select all

Label>ActiveWindowCheck
GetPixelColor>X,Y,IETitleBarColor
//8388608 = darkblue title bar - windows standard scheme
If>IETitleBarColor<>8388608, LetsCheckTheWindow
Wait>3
Goto>ActiveWindowCheck
and/or

Code: Select all

Label>LetsCheckTheWindow
GetActiveWindow>window_title,X,Y
If>window_title<>TheTitleYouExpect, LetsCloseAWindow
Goto>LetsCheckTheWindow

Label>LetsCloseAWindow
CloseWindow>window_title
Just an idea ... :)
Ciao
Ernest

Bilde
Junior Coder
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 3:19 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Bilde » Mon Nov 18, 2002 10:46 pm

Hi Ernest!
I get the point, and it's a very usefull couple of commands...

Thanks a lot for all ya' help :D

Post Reply
cron
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts