Compiling complex "if" statement fails

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3497
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Compiling complex "if" statement fails

Post by JRL » Mon Jan 10, 2005 8:06 pm

I don't know if this is a MS problem or a problem on my computer. My OS is XP sp1. I have not successfully compiled any script that contains a complex if statement.

As an example:

Let>a=5
Let>b=6

IF>{(%a%=5) AND (%b%=6)}
Let>e=YES
ELSE
Let>f=NO
ENDIF


This simple script will run fine as a script, but will fail as an exe. In Windows XP I receive an error message that says: "test.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for any inconvenience."

Any ideas?

Need more information?

Thank you,
Dick

Me_again
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Somewhere else on the planet

Post by Me_again » Tue Jan 11, 2005 3:24 am

Let>a=5
Let>b=6
Let>e=?
Let>f=?

IF>{(%a%=5) AND (%b%=6)}
Let>e=YES
ELSE
Let>f=NO
ENDIF
Message>%e% %f%

Compiles and runs fine for me on W2K and XP Home, SP1. I'm using 7.3.04. I have also compiled other complex IF macros without problem.

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3497
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:10 am

Thank You Me_again.

I just temporarily installed version 7.3.05 on my home computer which is also Win XP sp1. I pasted in the code as you posted it. After a successful compile, I experienced a miserable failure when trying to run the executable file. The same error I get at work.

I'm stumped. Any ideas how to debug this problem?

Thank you,
Dick

Me_again
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Somewhere else on the planet

Post by Me_again » Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:35 pm

I sent you a PM.

Me_again
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Somewhere else on the planet

Post by Me_again » Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:05 pm

Just a quick update. I tested your.exe on a W2K box and it fails with the same error message you quoted above, so I think you have something seriously wrong with your compiler/install.

I'll followup and send you a test file later.

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3497
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:02 pm

I have purchased 5 standard (non-compiling) license of Macro Scheduler and one pro version. The updates that I have available for download do not seem to be updating anything related to the compiler. The scripting portion of the "pro license" updates with the provided update file, but I'm suspecting that the compiler I'm using doesn't know what to do with the new complex statements.

I have sent a note with this info to [email protected]. Probably have to wait until tomorrow to hear from them but we'll see if they can help.

Thank you, Me_again, for your help.
Dick

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3497
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:29 pm

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Got the email from support while I was typing the last post. They set me up with the correct update (it has "wc" in the file name... must mean "with compiler") and I'm now making good exes with complex commands.

One more thank you for Me_again. Would certainly have taken much longer for me to figure this out without your help.

Dick

Me_again
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Somewhere else on the planet

Post by Me_again » Wed Jan 12, 2005 11:54 pm

That's great news :D

I recall being confused about getting a compiler upgrade myself...

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts