Strange Error Message

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
fightcancer
Macro Veteran
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:32 am

Strange Error Message

Post by fightcancer » Thu May 19, 2022 7:13 pm

What causes the MS error "No context-sensitive help installed."? Thanks.

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: Strange Error Message

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Thu May 19, 2022 7:38 pm

You're the first person to ever ask this. It's not an error we're familiar with. Context sensitive help is when you press F1 in the editor with a command selected, and it takes you to the help file for that command. Try rebooting or restarting macro Scheduler and see if it comes back. Then try reinstalling. In my 10 years here and in all my available historical ticket searches this has never been asked. Sometimes we see antivirus software cause odd issues, but this isn't one that we're aware of.
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

fightcancer
Macro Veteran
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:32 am

Re: Strange Error Message

Post by fightcancer » Mon Oct 03, 2022 12:31 am

Same error again. Restarting MS didn't help.

MS doesn't seem to like this line, " HoldKey>VK112,1,0".

Code: Select all

SRT>Pause
SetDialogProperty>Dialog1,Label2,Caption,SRT>Pause
Let>k=0
Repeat>k
  Add>k,1
  HoldKey>VK112,1,0
    Wait>{0.01 * (%k% - 1) * (%k% - 1)}
  HoldKey>2,1,0
    Wait>{0.01 * (%k% - 1) * (%k% - 1)}
Until>k,3
SetDialogProperty>Dialog1,Label1,Caption,Status: PAUSED
END>Pause
Using VK_F1 removes the error.

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: Strange Error Message

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Mon Oct 03, 2022 9:05 am

If I add Gosub>Pause at the beginning and run the code as is, there's no error. However, if I add a dialog and tinker with things so F1 is pressed when the dialog is open, I get the same error as you.

This script replicates the error (upon manually pressing F1), whether run from inside or outside the editor, or run from a compiled script. It seems pressing F1 from within a

Code: Select all


Dialog>Dialog1
object Dialog1: TForm
  Left = 1073
  Top = 214
  HelpContext = 5000
  BorderIcons = [biSystemMenu]
  Caption = 'CustomDialog'
  ClientHeight = 394
  ClientWidth = 1170
  Color = clBtnFace
  Font.Charset = DEFAULT_CHARSET
  Font.Color = clWindowText
  Font.Height = -28
  Font.Name = 'MS Sans Serif'
  Font.Style = []
  OldCreateOrder = True
  ShowHint = True
  OnTaskBar = False
  PixelsPerInch = 240
  TextHeight = 32
  object Label1: TLabel
    Left = 416
    Top = 136
    Width = 164
    Height = 64
    Caption = 'Label1'
  end
end
EndDialog>Dialog1

Show>Dialog1

label>start
wait>0.1
goto>start
I'll mention this to Marcus.
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: Strange Error Message

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Mon Oct 03, 2022 9:11 am

He's looking into it.
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7378
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: Strange Error Message

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Thu Oct 06, 2022 2:20 pm

HelpContext is set to 5000. It is therefore trying to load a help topic from a non existent help file. Try changing that value to 0 or just remove the line altogether.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: Strange Error Message

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Thu Oct 06, 2022 2:37 pm

Thanks Marcus.
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3497
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Strange Error Message

Post by JRL » Thu Oct 06, 2022 7:51 pm

That line has been in the default dialog definition since v12 was introduced. Here's a 12 year old example.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6187&p=27423&hilit= ... ext#p27423

Does the HelpContext line accomplish anything? Until now, never heard of it causing any issues.

Unless I want to alter a line such as the color, I usually run through and delete most of the boilerplate lines at the top of the dialog definition just to remove them from view. Dialog 2 below will display exactly the same as Dialog1 but has 14 fewer lines.

Code: Select all

Dialog>Dialog1
object Dialog1: TForm
  Left = 661
  Top = 207
  HelpContext = 5000
  BorderIcons = [biSystemMenu]
  Caption = 'Dialog 1'
  ClientHeight = 211
  ClientWidth = 476
  Color = clBtnFace
  Font.Charset = DEFAULT_CHARSET
  Font.Color = clWindowText
  Font.Height = -11
  Font.Name = 'MS Sans Serif'
  Font.Style = []
  OldCreateOrder = True
  ShowHint = True
  OnTaskBar = False
  PixelsPerInch = 96
  TextHeight = 13
end
EndDialog>Dialog1

Show>Dialog1

Dialog>Dialog2
object Dialog2: TForm
  BorderIcons = [biSystemMenu]
  Caption = 'Dialog 2'
  ClientHeight = 211
  ClientWidth = 476
end
EndDialog>Dialog2

Show>Dialog2,
I've never been able to cause a dialog to display in a specific position on the screen using "Left" and "Top" within the dialog definition. You can use SetDialogProperty> or MoveWindow> to position a dialog. No idea what HelpContext might be used for. And every line past Client Width in Dialog 1 above defaults to the value shown if you leave it out of the dialog definition.

fightcancer
Macro Veteran
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:32 am

Re: Strange Error Message

Post by fightcancer » Fri Oct 07, 2022 1:47 am

Marcus Tettmar wrote:
Thu Oct 06, 2022 2:20 pm
HelpContext is set to 5000. It is therefore trying to load a help topic from a non existent help file. Try changing that value to 0 or just remove the line altogether.
I removed the line. No issues yet. Thanks!

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts