Script on Dropbox causes occasional access violation

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Krep
Junior Coder

Script on Dropbox causes occasional access violation

Post by Krep » Thu Dec 31, 2020 9:38 pm

Hello,

First I want to say how much I love Macro Scheduler. I've been using it for many years and find it to be extremely useful and awesome!! After running an older version for better than 10 years I recently upgraded, and I'm surprised to say it was TOTALLY worth the money! Love the new features.

Anyway, I think I found something that might be an easy to fix bug:

Similar to this guy:
viewtopic.php?p=41966

I run the same script on several different machines, but I need to update it frequently. I "solved" this problem using Dropbox to hold the SCP file, and configured MS IDE to access files from my local dropbox folder. This works great except that occasionally Macro Scheduler reports an error message that it can't get to the file, I'm assuming because it tried at the same time as DropBox.exe...

While you can click "Ok" this seems to send the MS IDE into a downward spiral which eventually leads to an access violation:

More access violations follow, and eventually MS IDE starts behaving oddly, shows a blank page instead of the script, and the user cannot exit or do anything but force-close the MSschedule.exe (or whatever it's called).

Seems like what's needed is an error check in MS IDE, and then a few retries if the file is in use... most likely 1 or 2 cycles later the file would be freed up with no noticeable delay to the user. I'm surprised network shares wouldn't also be subject to this potential bug, but maybe since they don't have a local app (DropBox.exe) accessing the files it's a different story.

Would using a local copy (non dropbox) of the "main" macro, and then an "include" or "macro" statement to include the file, be a potential workaround?

Krep
Junior Coder