Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

hagchr
Macro Veteran
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:53 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by hagchr » Mon Dec 28, 2020 11:35 am

I have the problem that when I copy things from the forum or MS help files (or any web text really), into the MS editor, I get the annoying message "Cannot open clipboard: Access is denied". I click ok and paste again and then it works. I am using Win 10 pro and the latest version of MS (15.0.15). Doesn't matter if I use Edge, Chrome, or Firefox.

Anybody with the same issue or idea what it could be? I sent a message to the helpdesk quite some time ago but get did not get any reply.

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 695
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by Grovkillen » Tue Dec 29, 2020 5:40 am

Yep got that same error. It's been like that for a long time. I think it has to do with the type of content that's in the clipboard because it's not happening every time.
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.19b
version history

hagchr
Macro Veteran
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:53 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by hagchr » Tue Dec 29, 2020 10:33 am

God Fortsättning och Gott Nytt 2021!

I opened an extracted MS help page in Notepad, and see it is using Unix (LF) whereas my text files are usually using Windows (CRLF). Not sure if that has anything to do with the issue? Irritating but until there is info/solution I guess one has to live with it.

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 695
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by Grovkillen » Wed Apr 14, 2021 10:42 am

This issue is really annoying, I need to paste everything copied from the browser, twice.
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.19b
version history

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7337
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Mon Apr 19, 2021 10:08 pm

I've not been able to replicate this. Does this happen every time? Only when copying from a web page?
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 695
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by Grovkillen » Tue Apr 20, 2021 1:40 am

As far as I can recall only when copying from a web page. I'm using Chrome and copying from the web manuals for MS is causing it every time. But pasting it a second time it'll work. And I'm pretty sure it's the LF in the end that's causing it. I.e. it's a single LF and not a CRLF.
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.19b
version history

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7337
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Tue Apr 20, 2021 6:49 am

Odd. Using Chrome and copying code from the manual to the editor I get no issues.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 695
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by Grovkillen » Tue Apr 20, 2021 9:28 am

Both me and hagchr are based in Sweden. Could system settings = SE be the problem here?

I've recorded the issue:

Image
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.19b
version history

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7337
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Tue Apr 20, 2021 11:45 am

I can't really imagine why regional settings would affect paste.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

User avatar
Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard
Posts: 944
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Tue Apr 20, 2021 1:16 pm

Grovkillen wrote:
Tue Apr 20, 2021 9:28 am
Both me and hagchr are based in Sweden. Could system settings = SE be the problem here?

I've recorded the issue:

Image
I get this too from time to time, and my settings would have been either USA/UK. I've been trying to reliably replicate it. Mine didn't seem to be doing it if the MS Editor was already open, but I can see quite plainly that's not what you're experiencing. Is it happening 100% of the time?
Yes, we have a Custom Scripting Service. Message me or go here

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 695
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by Grovkillen » Tue Apr 20, 2021 1:18 pm

Close to 100% but sometimes it work... So it's a bit off an analog problem.
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.19b
version history

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3401
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by JRL » Tue Apr 20, 2021 1:26 pm

I'm in Iowa in the middle of the USA and I get it too. In the overall scheme of things to find annoying it doesn't bother me that much. I have only seen it in the Macro Scheduler editor, no other software. Also - can't make it happen. Never noticed it tied to copy from a browser. I copy and paste variable names from Macro Scheduler help several times every day and have never noticed the error. Rarely copy anything else from web pages. I'll try to pay attention to see if there are patterns.

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 695
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by Grovkillen » Tue Apr 20, 2021 3:10 pm

JRL wrote:
Tue Apr 20, 2021 1:26 pm
I'm in Iowa in the middle of the USA and I get it too.
I've lived a year in Fort Madison :mrgreen:
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.19b
version history

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3401
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by JRL » Tue Apr 20, 2021 3:41 pm

I knew there was a reason I liked you!

Its snowing there today.

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3401
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Issue when pasting into MS Editor

Post by JRL » Tue Apr 20, 2021 9:00 pm

Working from home logged in to various computers copying text from one computer to another was a chore. I wrote a script that allows me to pass clipboard data between computers. The passed text displays in a Macro Scheduler dialog on the receiving computer and when I double click on the text its fed to the clipboard using the Macro Scheduler Clipboard> function. Used that with an SQL statement a moment ago... Used ctrl + v to paste the text into the editor and the message popped up "Cannot open clipboard: Access is denied".

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts