GetWindowHandle, nothing found doesn't set the result variable to 0

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 586
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

GetWindowHandle, nothing found doesn't set the result variable to 0

Post by Grovkillen » Thu Dec 17, 2020 11:52 am

I need to set the window handle to zero before running the GetWindowHandle command just to be sure that the value isn't from a previous check. I would expect the command to return zero if nothing is found.

Code: Select all

Let>WINDOW_HANDLE=0
GetWindowHandle>Window Title*,WINDOW_HANDLE
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.18
version history

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3383
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: GetWindowHandle, nothing found doesn't set the result variable to 0

Post by JRL » Thu Dec 17, 2020 3:38 pm

Well... apparently if no window is found the result is not set to anything. Since window handles are always a number, rather than presetting the result value to "0" I'd set it to a text value perhaps "BLANK" or even "ZERO". After the GetWindowHandle> function if the result is still set to the preset text, you'll know that no window was found.

Post Reply
cron
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts