[Bug?] None English letters in variables upper vs lowercase

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1009
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Bräcke, Sweden
Contact:

[Bug?] None English letters in variables upper vs lowercase

Post by Grovkillen » Mon Apr 06, 2020 6:45 pm

I'm querying a database that got ÅÄÖåäö in some of the field names. If I use fields and have å ä or ö in the beginning of a field it will not work to do dynamic variable replacement.

I made this test and it confirms to me that in the case of these Nordic letters uppercase are not equal to lowercase:

Code: Select all

Let>Å=1
Let>Ä=2
Let>Ö=3

Let>TEMP=å
Let>TEMP=Å
Let>TEMP=ä
Let>TEMP=Ä
Let>TEMP=ö
Let>TEMP=Ö

Let>Xå=10
Let>Xä=20
Let>Xö=30

Let>TEMP=Xå
Let>TEMP=xå
Let>TEMP=XÅ
Let>TEMP=Xä
Let>TEMP=xä
Let>TEMP=XÄ
Let>TEMP=Xö
Let>TEMP=xö
Let>TEMP=XÖ

Let>TEMP=%xå%
Let>TEMP=%xä%
Let>TEMP=%xö%

Let>xx=123
Let>TEMP=xx
Let>TEMP=xX
Let>TEMP=XX
Let>TEMP=Xx
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.24
version history

User avatar
PepsiHog
Automation Wizard
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 4:19 pm
Location: Florida

Re: [Bug?] None English letters in variables upper vs lowercase

Post by PepsiHog » Wed Jul 15, 2020 8:49 pm

@Grovkillen,
Just browsing for zero replies. The RegEx wizard that you are, is what made me curious. So RegEx can not solve this for you? You can't grab only [a-zA-Z0-9]?

What's the update on this venture? Is the computer still in one piece? :lol:

Share the knowledge, man.
PepsiHog
Windows 7

PepsiHog. Yep! I drink LOTS of Pepsi (still..in 2021) AND enjoy programming. (That's my little piece of heaven!)

The immensity of the scope of possibilities within Macro Scheduler pushes the user beyond just macros!

User avatar
Grovkillen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1009
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Bräcke, Sweden
Contact:

Re: [Bug?] None English letters in variables upper vs lowercase

Post by Grovkillen » Sat Jul 18, 2020 1:58 pm

I now use the uppercase command and that makes it work. But uppercase leaves the Nordic letters lowercase, so when comparing I need to make sure I use lowercase for those letters.
Let>ME=%Script%

Running: 15.0.24
version history

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts