Sending Blocks of Text

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

bossydog9
Junior Coder

Sending Blocks of Text

Post by bossydog9 » Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:16 pm

Hi,

In the Automating Windows for Beginners video, it demonstrates sending text to Notepad using a Send> & Press Enter pair for each line. Is there a way of sending a block of text (and building a string variable) all at once using something like the heredoc method of delimiting multi-line strings in PHP?:

$str = <<<EOD
Example of string
spanning multiple lines
using heredoc syntax.
EOD;

Regards,

Dorian (MJT support)
Automation Wizard

Re: Sending Blocks of Text

Post by Dorian (MJT support) » Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:42 pm

I'm not a php programmer so am unfamiliar with that. Others here may be able to comment specifically. ReadFile will read an entire text file as one variable, which can then be parsed afterwards.

But you can build strings in a number of ways. For example :

Code: Select all

Let>var1=cat
Let>var2=dog
Let>var3=fish

Let>combinedvars=%var1% %var2% %var3%
messagemodal>combinedvars
Of course your vars could have been taken from a variety of sources - reading Excel, reading a text file, scraping, user entry etc etc.

Now let's say we want to enter a block of text but we don't want to use Send to send the characters one at a time. Sometimes this is actually necessary, as occasionally websites or applications won't like having a lot of text send to them that way.

Here's the way I do that : put the created string into Windows clipboard, then paste it.

//Your block of text
Let>var1=In the Automating Windows for Beginners video, it demonstrates sending text to Notepad using a Send> & Press Enter pair for each line. Is there a way of sending a block of text (and building a string variable) all at once using something like the heredoc method of delimiting multi-line strings in PHP?:

//Put it in the clipboard
put>%var1%