DropBox

Anything Really. Just keep it clean!

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

PepsiHog
Automation Wizard

DropBox

Post by PepsiHog » Wed Jun 26, 2013 4:49 pm

I've mentioned before how I do not trust sites that allow you to upload data. This is a perfect example.

I downloaded DropBox and installed it so I could share a very lengthy script in this forum. It worked very well. After I used it, I closed DropBox and set it not to start at startup. I didn't really think about it at first. When I shutdown I kept seeing "Closing Network Connections" Keep in mind DropBox is supposedly not loading at startup. Well, after investigating this I tracked it back to dropbox. I looked in at my network connections settings. There was nothing but my internet connection. I'm not too savy when it comes to networking. I can manage, but I'm not an expert. So I sent DropBox an e-mail about how to disconnect the network connection until I needed to use it again. I explained that I was concerned about security issues.

Here is the reply to my "security issue" e-mail I sent to DropBox.
Dropbox Support, Jun 22 12:15 am (PDT):
Hi,

Thanks for writing in. While we'd love to answer every question we receive, we can't get back to you at this time.

If you need to restore a lot of files, please take these steps: https://www.dropbox.com/help/400
Also, check out our help center for solutions to the most frequent questions: https://www.dropbox.com/help

We're sorry for the inconvenience,
The Dropbox Team
How convenient they can't answer my "security question" at this time. And why would they make the connection be OPEN all the time, even when DropBox isn't loaded? When you install DropBox it opens the connection. When you close DropBox I would expect that it would close that connection. Why leave it open? And why are they not willing to tell me how to disconnect it? Dishonest much? Spy, spy, spy.