MacroScheduler Usage in Data Center for Virtual Machines

General Macro Scheduler discussion

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

ClearPhoenix

MacroScheduler Usage in Data Center for Virtual Machines

Post by ClearPhoenix » Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:24 pm

Hello everyone;

I'm looking for some suggestions on how to make use of MacroScheduler now that we are moving to a Virtual Server infrastructure.

I've been using MS for a few years now to automate various accounting processes that are basically just point and click operations, but take a lot of time waiting between processes, so not a good use of a persons valuable time, exactly what MS is for :)

Now we are moving to a data center, and MS cannot do auto logins so there goes macro scheduling.

I know and understand why MS doesn't work *through* an RDP session, however, it does work fine *on* an RDP session.
*through* being MS installed on local computer trying to do things to the windows presented in the RDP session window.
*on* being connected to a server via RDP and the MS software is actually installed on the remote machine.

I think I've come up with a dirty work around by having MS installed on a local computer, and it has a scheduled macro that just opens up an RDP session to my virtual machine on the data center, then that login on the VM actually has MS installed too, so now that there is an actual session that exists, macros can then run from there, and of course that log in opens MS as a start up task.

While looking around in the products section, (prompted by the September bonus upgrade email that was sent out) I see that there is the Remote Controller, but would that allow 1 install to tell another install to log in? I'm guessing that is a no as the remote install would have to be running to receive the request in the first place.

I guess the question here is, what kinds of things have other MS users done or tried to do in Virtual Environments?

Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin