Type a TAB in a Dialog

General Macro Scheduler discussion

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3230
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Type a TAB in a Dialog

Post by JRL » Mon Oct 01, 2018 9:03 pm

Has anyone discovered a method to type the TAB character into a dialog object such as a memo or edit field? Pressing Tab moves to the next field as expected. Pressing ALT + 9 presents a question mark as does ALT + just about any number under 32.

My only thought is to specify a special string such as ##TAB## and insert that into the text where a Tab should be placed. On processing of the text the special string could be replaced with an actual Tab character. Try convincing users this is a good idea.

Any thoughts?
Dick

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7029
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: Type a TAB in a Dialog

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Mon Oct 08, 2018 4:03 pm

Currently you can't do it I don't think as it requires trapping the CMDialogKey message as Tab is handled by Windows, not at the form level.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

Post Reply